We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a solo traveller, great place to meet people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

This hostel is very well located. Rooms are quite spacious and had a private toilet bathroom which I found was great. The common area is really big and with an awesome vibe. Great service with cool staff members. When it comes to backpackers, they know what they are doing

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 723 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

I couldn't have picked a more warm and welcoming place to stay on my first ever solo trip and first ever time in a backpackers. I would highly recommend others in the same situation as me. I felt safe and that my possessions were secure in the rooms when I wasn't there. Entry via swipe card only into the dorms.

Everyone is pretty friendly, especially front desk staff and travel staff. This place is in an A++ location near the waterfront and central to everything.

Between 6pm - 9pm take a few alcholic drinks with you as this is the time it gets pretty social and everyone seems to drink and play card games up until 9pm. One night they had a mock speed dating night... this was a great way to get to know almost everyone in the hostel. Fantastic atmosphere in all areas at all times.

Dorms were clean and comfortable and warm. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm with ensuite (level 2) for most nights of my week stay, a double ensuite room one night (3rd floor) and a king ensuite one night (3rd floor) aswell. I liked all of them, however, preferred the social networking in the 6 bed dorm.

Note: Double and King rooms have bar fridge, ironing board and tea and coffee facilities.

On Friday and Saturday nights there was quite a bit of noise from pubs outside which can be beaten if you join in on the fun!! Otherwise, suck it up and take the option of free ear plugs from reception. I have to say I didn't hear any noise whatsoever when I was staying on the 3rd floor.

Was great to have a free breakfast (toast) especially when having to get up super early to catch a tour bus. I didn't have the free dinner as I generally met up with people to go out for a pub meal.. but most people said it was okay, small portions, but during peak season get it quick as it is a first in first serve basis.

I can't fault this place at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckDarwin_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hostel itself seemed newly built with a good atmosphere and a great location with downtown Queenstown as well as the lake just outside the door. The room was very clean. Internet costs (Wi-Fi) of 4$ per day were ok.
However, staying in a queen- ensuite studio we were disappointed of the fact that we had no window in the room. We had to sleep with the cooling heat pump on, which made the air very dry.
Asking staff if we could change the room she told us to come back the next day. Comming back the next day another staff member told us that none of the queen ensuites have a window.
Beds were average (quite noisy, ok comfortable) for a hostel.
I would recommend this hostel, if you chose another room type or do not plan to stay for a long time.

Room Tip: Don't chose a queen-ensuite if you plan to stay longer than a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsQueenstown, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to place feedback. Our double/combi rooms which you stayed in are advertised as interior rooms which is why they are much cheaper than our king rooms which all have large balconies - to be honest we generally try to upgrade bookings from the combi rooms as many don't read that they are windowless/interior on the listings when booking and we don't like to disappoint. As our private rooms are usually fully booked in advance the staff would have asked you to come back to see if a king room had become available that day which often happens - I'm sorry in your case this didn't become available and you didn't feel the room was what you expected. Thanks again for your feedback, we are going to investigate all our online listings to ensure it's made clear that the few rooms we do have of this room type are clearly listed as windowless so we don't disappoint again. Kind regards, Nomads Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

I just loved it. Our form was big, clean and comfy. Nice kitchen and toilets. Awesome common room and cinema room. Sauna is a great thing as well. Very nice as and helpful staff. Gear location. Really the best hostel in New Zealand for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stayed in both a private room and a 10 bed dorm room during my stay there. Private rooms were quiet, clean, tidy, spacious, comfortable and worth the extra money. The dorm rooms were so much fun, a great way to meet new people with many memories made and stories to bring home to tell people. Loved every minute. Free dinners tasted really good and loved the great deals offered when you purchase a tour downstairs e.g. free beer. Best location in Queenstown no doubt. Heading back soon so I will definitely stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.3 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
386 reviews
1 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
382 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 93 in Queenstown
217 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $47 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing