We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Amazing Value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed in a king ensuite room.
The room included two towels, soap, and a shampoo. As well as a kettle, and tea/coffee/milk and sugar.
The room was not spacious, however we only were there to sleep, and I dont think it was that much smaller then our friends room in the Novotel.
We had a large shared deck, which in the middle of winter was just handy to step outside and check if we had enough warm clothes on! As well as having an amazing view which captured Queenstowns beauty
The only annoying things were that the bathroom sink was very hard to wash my face in as it was so small and had a shelf close above it. Also the bed was a little too firm and we could feel the springs in the matress. However there has to be something to remind you its a backpackers!!
The place was very clean, quiet, staff were friendly and seamed to be enjoying their work.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockZilla83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsQueenstown, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The design of the sink is a little awkward, apologies for this. We are currently replacing all of our mattresses and have double checked which room you stayed in so it is replaced straight away.

Thanks again and all the best for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 749 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Was nice to stay at a hostel in New Zealand where you could actually drink your own alcohol in the common area, even though this was only up until 9pm it was still better than most. Location of the hostel is good, right in the centre of Queenstown. Rooms were decent size and shared bathrooms were always clean, considering most people are out till late there wasn't really any noise and always able to get to sleep. Cinema room was a nice little added extra where you could go any time of day or night and there would always be a film on!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback - we are stoked you had a great stay! Hope to see you again in the future - Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Awesome hostel, friendly staff, great atmosphere and great facilities! Definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goingplaces91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsQueenstown, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback - we are so stoked you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again in the future - all the best for the rest of your travels. Cheers Aimee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Nomads hostel in Queenstown has been hands down the best hostel I have stayed in. I have stayed in numerous hostels across Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand and this definitely topped the list. It seems they have really thought of everything for this hostel. I had planned to stay there for 5 nights but I ended up staying for 3 weeks. Turns out a lot of people done the same, they didn’t want to leave.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, especially Denny and Ronan on reception who couldn’t have done any more for us, they created such a fun and welcoming atmosphere in the hostel. We also booked all our trips at the travel desk in the hostel and got a really good deal.
Nomads have done everything right.

The location is ideal, right in the centre of things. Everywhere is in walking distance and the views from the balconies are gorgeous. The hostel itself is modern, spacious and most important for me very clean and secure as all the rooms have swipe cards and you need your card to get into the hostel after 7pm.

The communal area is very large and also has an amazing cosy fire which I found hard to leave! There is also a cinema room with loads of films to choose from and a snooker and fuseball table. You can have drinks in the communal area until 9pm. There was always a great atmosphere and it’s a good place to meet people. Everyday there were day and evening activities planned for anyone who wanted to join in. Some of the ones that I done were ice skating, Frisbee golf, zumba, bar crawl and killer pool. There is also a large sauna in the hostel which comes in very handy after coming in from the cold

The kitchen has all the utensils you need and is not cramped but best of all there is a free daily breakfast and dinner which is great when your travelling as it saves you a lot of money. I have had free dinners in other hostels before which were not nice but the Nomads dinners were very tasty.

The rooms were perfect, cleaned everyday. Nice and spacious which I needed as I don’t travel light!

I really cant fault anything about Nomads, my stay was so enjoyable and I have and will be recommending this hostel to everyone.

Thanks Nomads for making my trip to Queenstown the best it could have been.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharelle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsQueenstown, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Oh wow, this feedback completely blew us away - Deni and Ronan are delighted (are you sure they didn't pay you haha) thank you so, so much for your awesome feedback. We are stoked you loved your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're very proud of our hostel and it's so good to hear that you loved it as much as we do. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Amazing place to stay in Queenstown, New Zealand. It is a shame more hostels are not more like this - the social area had a huge kitchen with loads of sofas to hang out on.
I loved the sofas and the relaxed feel in this hostel!

The breakfast and free meal supplied were simple but did the job when you are a hungry traveler!

I would stay here again if i am ever in Queenstown! :)

Room Tip: The smaller rooms do have a lot more space in but obviously these can be more pricey. I had an 6 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsQueenstown, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hostel, we're really happy you enjoyed your stay. All the best for your future travels! Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,231 reviews
0.3 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
384 reviews
0.2 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
338 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#19 of 93 in Queenstown
215 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $41 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing