We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep in an amazing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have to admit its been a while since I stayed in a backpackers ... from the moment I walked in the doors, the friendly and funny ladies on reception gave me the immediate feeling that I was going to have a great stay. My room was super clean and modern, flat screen TV and ensuite, bed was comfy, amazing balcony, heating - just perfect. The atmosphere throughout the whole hostel was one of fun - and pride and really very very cool - right down to the fluffy white towel on the bed !!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools27Wanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsQueenstown, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, so happy you loved your stay - the reception crew are definitely "interesting characters" and I'm glad you found them fun, friendly and helpful. We have a lot of fun working here! Hope you come and visit us again soon, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 815 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Nomads is by far the best hostel I have stayed at. There is always plenty of staff available, and they are very friendly. Can't say one bad thing about the facilities. So clean, spacious, comfortable. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm and it was perfect. Didn't find the place too loud or too "party central." If you're not interested in the partying, don't let that deter you from staying here! Also was able to make bookings from the hostel. Great value for money and the location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: 4 bed female dorm with bathroom was GREAT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolabee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This large hostel right down town is where the party is. They have a bar crawl on Monday nights so that should give you some idea. Even if you aren't up for the party, I wasn't, they have good laundry facilities, lounges and internet. I got a private and thought it was worth every penny. There was a balcony, a tv, a great shower and a huge bed. It was more hotel like than any of the other privates I have stayed in in hostels.The privates are on the third floor and it was surprisingly quiet up there for how loud the first two floors are. Great for couples who have been staying in the dorms looking for a private night. And of course if you want to party in Queenstown this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihavethewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hostel itself is nice, clean, spacious (maybe a bit too big and busy for my liking) and has good facilities including a cinema room and free food in the evenings. However, it was incredibly busy even in the off season, and my room was right next to a bar/club that played loud music until 5am which made sleep nigh on impossible.

Room Tip: Rooms in the girls' dorms are very loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisehon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsQueenstown, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback, sorry to hear you found your room noisy from the bars outside. We do our best to control this by ensuring the bars follow the local noise restrictions as well as having top of the range double glazing to keep as much noise as possible outside. We also offer free earplugs at our 24 hour reception if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Backpackers want somewhere with a good social scene, clean rooms and who can say no to the free food they offer on a daily basis?!
Located centrally in the picturesque town of Queenstown, this hostel is a backpacker's dream with an opportunity to drink and socialize with like minded backpackers in the common area until 9pm each night.
Staff are friendly and understanding and the hostel is well run.
As I stayed 5 nights I would have liked to have my bed sheets changed, but this is a minor complaint in a hostel that boasts many benefits(cinema room, sauna,etc)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamhyosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
399 reviews
1 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#9 of 93 in Queenstown
347 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 93 in Queenstown
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
394 reviews
0.3 km away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#81 of 93 in Queenstown
626 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Queenstown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Hostel

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $31 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing