We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but expensive for what it is.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Really good location,nice,new hostel that is always kept really clean! I would say that it's a bit expensive $35 a night for a
6bed dorm with no window!! The facilities are really good and some staff were very friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alipoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 766 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

The location of Nomads Queenstown is amazing. It's right near the lake and in the heart of Queenstown, convenient to any activity there. The staff was incredibly helpful and recommended a few things to do while in Queenstown.

I stayed in a single ensuite on the 3rd floor. The bathrooms were tiny and poorly designed. The sink is very small, and there's a shelf above the sink that's just as large as the sink itself, which made routine activities cumbersome. The bed isn't very comfortable. There is no phone or clock in the room, so I had to use my cellphone to set an alarm.

More important, and noted on some other reviews, there is a bar/club across the street from Nomads that doesn't shut down until after 3am. Getting some sleep with loud music pumping through wasn't easy. I had an early pickup for a trip to Milford Sound, and having the club across the street made for a tough couple of nights.

I think if you know what you're getting yourself into going in, there's nothing wrong with Nomads. It's a nice property in a perfect location. However, be aware that there's a lot of room for improvement here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here for about a week, rooms are clean and well sized, some have balconies. If you stay here I suggest paying that little bit extra and staying on the 3rd floor where the rooms are twins/doubles; fridge, wardrobe, desk, balcony, private bathroom, T and coffee!!!! Loved it. Dont make the mistake of going to Base. Nomads is the better of the two. Friendly staff, massive kitchen area inc pool table, sofas etc. Free dinner everyday too!! Sweet as!!

Room Tip: Any with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monbijou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This place is definitely the place to stay in Queenstown. High-rise hostel with gorgeous rooms (my husband and I stayed in a double room) and great staff. We were very pleased with location and services. This was our favorite hostel (though it was a little splurge) on our biking tour on the South Island.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTbkrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a well run establishment with helpful staff, free breakfast ( just toast and spreads) and dinner if you want to get in the stampede, (we didnt we are in our 60s) We had booked a twin room but on going in saw it was a king size bed, no problem they said and they sent someone up right away when i said yes it is a problem we would like to shower and go out very soon, so f you book here and you want twin room stress with twin beds, other than that it was good, fridge tv etc

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avoncarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
0.3 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
388 reviews
1 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
382 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 93 in Queenstown
217 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $40 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing