We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time was amazing!”

Flame Bar and Grill
Ranked #21 of 292 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 27
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: With some of the best views in Queenstown, Flame is Queenstown's unique African grill-house. Flame, a small family owned steak house offers quality food and excellent service in a vibrant and intimate setting. This is a dining experience not to be missed. All our beef is grass fed from Southland and Otago and is aged for up to 6 weeks then flame-grilled in our secret basting resulting in it's unique flavour. Racks of ribs are served on a board and come supplied with a flame bib!! Seafood, chicken and vegetarian options are also catered for. Make sure you leave space for a Dom Pedro!! Flame will bring out the carnivore in you. Discover the taste of South Africa - A rare steakhouse, well done!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

If you were really clever you would book well in advance to get the best table - i'm talking months! The prices are not cheap but the meals are also not small! We always get the meat and seafood platter because you get to try everything and the food is always amazing!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 289 of 3,015 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our meals were so delicious & had a table near the window which was a great view. Staff were very friendly & couldn't fault anything. We had the squid, chips & the full rack of ribs. Was a big effort to finish the ribs but hubby didn't want to waste them as they were so good. Definitely one of our favourite restaurants in NZ

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank chriss552016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Definitely make a reservation! This place is popular because it’s so delicious. Zee helped us find the perfect entrees and took the time to answer all our questions. All the staff had big smiles on their faces and we’re non-stop working to make sure you had a great experience.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Very busy place! You must book! Highlights: cocktails, Ribs, steak and calamari.
Lowlights: Nick is very friendly but kept calling my mum and I darling which I didn’t really appreciate. It’s also upstairs so if you have a disability maybe make a back up booking.
Overall delicious food and excellent drinks!! Would go back!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 6,678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had read the reviews on Facebook and decided to see if we could get a table on Good Friday. Even though it was really busy, they had had a couple of no shows so we were able to get a table. My husband and I had the mixed grill platter to share, there were 4 sections of ribs, half a peri peri chicken, 2 of their South African sausages, a piece of steak and fried. Our kids had chicken tenders with fries. The food was amazing! The steak was probably the best I’ve ever eaten! Looking at other diners food that was being bought out, everything looked really good! I will definitely be recommending Flame to anyone else who travels to Queenstown. The staff were really friendly and very accommodating given how busy they were.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank nikkict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flame Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Flame Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing