We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING VIEWS...POUNAMU APARTMENTS”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
berkshire
1 review
“STUNNING VIEWS...POUNAMU APARTMENTS”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in the 1 bed studio apartment with a stunning view over looking the lake and hills,even though our apartment was on the main road you would have never known this as no noise was heard on the inside! We had a very warm welcome and was shown around the beautiful apartment and how everything works with free internet, fax machine etc.. The rooms were spotlessly clean,the bed was very comfortable with the beautiful view, we only had 2 nights stay here but we could have easily stayed longer. It is only a 10/15 minute walk into Queenstown where there is plenty of bars/cafes and shops and its very easy to catch a cab back to the Pounamu and cheap! Great must do activities to book in the town and the staff in the activitiy centres are very helpful.
We would highly recommend The Pounamu!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    289
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
275
813
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I LOVE this place! So happy I found it and stayed here - it really made my trip to Qtown something special and provided a nice dose of luxury and style. I actually stayed twice for a single night each time at the beginning and end of my trip - in studio units both times (11 and 24). The place looked good online and obviously gets good reviews here on Trip Advisor, but you never know for sure until you see it for yourself. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

The apartments are new and ultra-modern, beautifully furnished and appointed. The bed was huge and the most comfortable one I slept in during my entire trip to NZ and AUS. While the studio is small, it's fine for 1 person. The TV options were plentiful. The heat was responsive and had a remote control. The bathroom shower / tub was plenty large for a tall guy like me with plenty of hot water and a nice shower fixture. The studio (which does not have any lake views) shares laundry access with the adjoining apt. Both the washer and dryer are brand new, free of charge and easy to use. The entire property was spotlessly clean.

The staff was extremely helpful, accommodating, very friendly. I arrived late (2000) on the night of my second stay, and the manager was still in the office and happy to check me in with no problem. They also held my bag for about a week while I was tramping.

The property is located on Frankton Road, which is a major street with lots of traffic, but I didn't have any noise issues. It's about a 15 - 20 min walk into Qtown - very easy. The Qtown Connectabus also has stops along the road, which made it easy to catch a ride to the airport for my flight out.

During my visit, I also stayed at the Millennium down the street, which is no where near as nice. While there are many properties in Qtown, I can't recommend Pounamu enough, both for the value, the high quality rooms, and the superior service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I can't recommend this place too highly. The accommodation is simply stunning (2 bed premier). It is lavishly equipped with everything you can imagine and other extras that surprise. The in room desktop PC with printer/fax and free internet is a great touch and free Prada was nice too.

Staff are outstandingly good they have great people who know how to take care of their guests with easy informal kiwi hospitality. They are full of enthusiasm and ideas for activities and know simply everything about Queenstown and can point you in right direction/organise anything for you.

This place is simply first class design and execution. I don't have any suggestions for improvements.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talk2mrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My friend and I recently spent a couple of nights at Pounamu Apartments in a 1 bedroom Apartment. The views were spectacular. Pounamu have a special on at the moment, where you book directly on their site in a 1 or 2 bedroom Apartment and you get a free Male or Female Prada Perfume! My friend and I wanted to do do a bungy jump and a Jet Boat Ride, the staff were very helpful and booked this for us, and gave us a lot of very helpful advise. Our experience staying in Pounamu surely was one to remember - Thanks team!

Room Tip: Only the 1 and 2 bedroom apartments have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great room with very pleasant decor, spacious layout, TV, air-con and kitchenette all modern and easy to use etc...
As with everywhere in Queenstown the views are amazing, but some rooms have better views than others. My room had a small but still spectacular view of the lake and mountains. - Worth enquiring about before booking?

Free internet & Sky Tv were perks, especially for downtime.

Overall a very relaxing and easy place to stay, suitable for business people, couples etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy1989_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.4 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
4.3 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.2 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $200 - $562
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing