We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
521
371
203
64
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
371
203
64
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river te anau the kitchen mountain view insect repellent heated floors bed dorm camper van floor to ceiling drying room underfloor heating powered site remote location boat trip main building riverside chalets lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We stayed in one of the creekside units which was very luxurious and super comfortable. By staying overnight you increase the weather odds of getting some blue sky and can partly avoid the crowds who pour into the Sound in the middle of the day.
Lodge staff were great = very professional without being painfully hip / elitist.
Breakfast and Dinner at the Lodge were pleasing meals and considering the location not that pricy either.
Splurge / book well ahead and stay here.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

A must place to stay in Milford. Review is more based on location than anything else here, as although the Lodge is good, you really stay here because Milford Sound is amazing and unrivaled in New Zealand. Yes it touristy but the lodge is clean and tidy, spectacular location and has restaurant with has good selection of food. Stayed 1 night in Riverside unit which are expensive but good value compared to other towns like Queenstown and Wanaka

Room tip: Avoid staying in a campervan. It rains a lot in Milford Sound plus sand flies
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank William365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I stayed on the Milford Sound campsite for one night when visiting this beautiful place. It has not been the cheapest campsite I've stayed on while travelling through New Zealand but it was a beautiful one with amazing views.
I really appreciated the very warm welcome by the staff. The campsite is nice and tidy. The facilities were clean and tidy and so was the kitchen area. But exept for breakfast I didn't use the kitchen because the lodge has a very nice restaurant where I enjoyed a really good dinner and glass of wine. I really enjoyed staying here.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JorisL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We arrived in Milford sound in our campervan not knowing this place was here. We managed to get the last campsite - wow, such a majestic setting on the water/river.. Each site is secluded and surrounded by Bush. Excellent kitchen and bathroom facilities - prob the best we came across on our 4 week trip. Had delicious breakfast in restaurant next morning - delicious eggs Benedict
Would definately make this a must stay when visiting Milford sound. Make sure you book in advance, we were luck to get last spot due to last minute cancellation.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 622tanyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a riverside cabin surrounded by world class views of mountains, towering cliffs and huge waterfalls. We never got tired to the glass wall which provided jaw dropping views of the river and waterfalls. The service was excellent. From the friendly greeting at reception to the restaurant staff and housekeeping and Udo the shuttlebus driver who couldn't do enough to keep these two Milford Track hikers happy. It is also very close to the cruise terminal for Milford Sound. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jimwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews