We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul you Rock! A great trip”

Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet
Ranked #2 of 4 Tours in Invercargill
Attraction details
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We started at Blue cliffs carpark and walked 8 hours to Port Craig,one night at port craig lodge, and then 5.5 hours along old rail way track to the Wairaurahiri river, we stayed at the doc hut right beside the river, Paul picked us up and took us up the river across lake Hauoko and transported us right back to our vehicle. Paul was great,. really recommend this jet boat ride,the river is beautiful and Paul was a great guide. Many thanks.
Please note you can do the walk right to the Wairauhiri river and jet boat back out with out going though the humpridge office, there are three doc huts that you can stay at, school house at port craig, Percy vern viaduct and the hut at right at the river. For a tramp for those on a budget who also want a boat ride the doc huts are perfect. It is also a long walk to port craig 22km and took us 8 hours, not a difficult walk but very long!! The tramp from Port Craig to river is 16km very flat and takes in the amazing viaducts. Thanks Paul a great trip:)

Thank Lorac2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Cheers for that Lora,
I'm really happy we could make it happen for you.
A cheerfull bunch like you make it easy
Roffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is an excellent way to finish the Hump Ridge track by organising Humpridge Jet to collect you and your packs from Waitutu Lodge, jet boat up the Wairaurahiri river,across the beautiful Lake Hauroko and deliver you back to Tuatapere by vehicle.

Thank MastertonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Our sincere thanks for your revew.
Cheers,
Roffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Humpridge Jet was an amazing experience. It wasn't all about the buzz buzz, thrill seeking crazyness- that other 'people factory' Jet boat companies are all about. We took the beautiful journey across Lake Huroko (the deepest in NZ),down the Wairaurahiri and on to the isolated South Coast where we looked across to Stewart Island and watched the Petrels play on the surf. On the adventure we not only enjoyed the fun of being in a jet boat but got to see a remote part of NZ and meet the locals. Roffy the man at the wheel spent the entire day with us, no particular schedule we had to stick to- he was just happy to show us around. Roffy knows so much about the area, flora and fauna, history- he had some good stories to tell too. There were only 5 of us in the boat and it was very enjoyable. We popped into several of the huts along the river including one where we were served a hot cup of tea.
Very valuable experience, I'd do it again over any other JetBoat trip.

1  Thank 1Alpine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Wow what can I say
Many Thanks
Roffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Thanks Paul for a great day, fantastic,exhilarating and safe jet boat ride down and back up the Wairaurahiri river. The river was very low with lots of rocks showing, making it all the more exciting.Take your camera amazing scenery beautiful native bush and a great host to tell you all about it. Delicious BBQ lunch with melt in your mouth venison.
Would highly recommend this trip with Paul to everyone.Will definitely do this again

Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Great weather good company makes for a great day out.
Thanks,Gavin for this great review
Cheers Roffy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hauroko down the Wairaurahiri river by jet boat first time for all that travelled,few nerves at the start, absolutly awsome ride great skills from Roffy, brilliant knowledge of the area, boat and the river you were just amazing, awsome photo opps take your camera, short walks so comfy shoes needed. and the BBQ that Roffy cooked delicious all round brilliant day had by all will definiatly go again loved it all. Thanks for a great day Roffy

Thank Kiwifernnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank-you for this great review,
Roffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing