We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
USD 163
View deal
Expedia.com
USD 163
View deal
Trip.com
USD 140
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 163
Booking.comUSD 164
eDreamsUSD 163
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
461
112
11
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
461
112
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office washing machine and dryer great hotel push button one bedroom suite comfortable bed generous size historic building huge bathroom hotel room appointed rooms railway station central location centre of town comfortable stay parcel shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Everything really good until the set menu meal , 2 choice entree, mushroom soup or salmon salad nice mushroom soup. 2 choice mains chicken or lamb , opted for the lamb , because of Chicken allergy, every body satisfied with the lamb at our table, except me , I got the end piece of rump . Tough, grizzly under cooked,( road kill ). Apology from serving staff, offered a drink, not a meal replacement. Disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2019

Hi Alan,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your recent visit. We truly appreciate your thoughts.

It is great that in general terms all was very well received, particularly the room, the service and the view.

However, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with your set menu experience. While we are very glad that all other members in your group enjoyed their lamb, it is regrettable that the restaurant staff did not rectify your particular complaint to your satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies. I have passed your message on to our Restaurant Manager for further investigation.

Nonetheless, we hope to see you again if your are in this region in the future. All the best.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night while on a business trip in early April.
Easily the most luxurious hotel Dunedin has to offer.

The renovation of this building to this standard is amazing. Service at check in was quick yet thorough and friendly too.

Room was of a very high standard with luxury bed linen, bathroom fixtures and pleasantly quiet. It also featured a small kitchenette- a big bonus not normally offered in this spec hotel.

Valet parking was $20 per night ( pretty normal for central Dunedin hotels)

Will definitely look to stay again and highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Catcalverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Hi Catherine,

We are glad that you had a great night with us at Distinction Dunedin recently. Thanks for taking a minute to give us your impressions.

It is outstanding that you appreciate the extensively renovated former Post Office building on Liverpool St. The building features all expected contemporary elements while retaining its 1930s character and its local historical significance.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation so much and that you also availed yourself of our well disposed valets, engageable for only NZD20 per day.

Thanks so much for giving us your recommendation Catherine. It would be great to see you again.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night as part of a group tour. We were not expecting it to be such a good hotel. We loved the style, clean, contemporary & spotlessly clean. Our room had a separate utility room with a washing machine & tumble drier which was an absolute godsend, as we were halfway through our tour & running out of clothes. We washed & dried everything whilst we had dinner.

The restaurant barman was very friendly & the restaurant food was very good - but..... the service was so slow. Unfortunately there was another group having dinner, so we waited ages for our meals to arrive. There was a hiccup over dessert, the waiter didn’t have a clue what to do & kept running to the restaurant to find out our requests.

Overall this did nit spoil our stay & we would definitely go back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Polykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Hi Polykala,

Thank you kindly for remarking on your recent stay. It is excellent to receive your 5 star rating, given as members of a stop-over coach tour. We hope that your tour as a whole proceeded to your full satisfaction and enjoyment.

We are so pleased that your room was well received and that the facilities provided all you could have wished for, including our in room laundry equipment.

Regarding your reference to your particular experience in Parcels Restaurant, it is outstanding that the food was good and the service friendly. I have however passed on your comment concerning your waiter that evening, and we will investigate the circumstances.

Many thanks again. It would be our pleasure to see you in future.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019

I've stayed here number of time in the last couple of years, including twice in the last month. While some rooms are betters than others is a great placebo stay with a washing machine & dryer included in the bathrooms. Dining in the restaurant is 'top rate'

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank B8976SYjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Dear John,

Thanks very much for your kind words and for your recommendation following your recent positive experiences at Distinction Dunedin.

It is great to learn that you are a semi-regular visitor, and we hope that you will continue to be so in future.

Many kind regards.

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

From the moment we checked in with late notice we were greeted by a fantastic FOH team who were only happy to help. Our room was excellent and the black out curtains were amazing ! We will definitely be back

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank the2ks2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2019

Warm greetings,

Thanks so very much for taking a few moments to review Distinction Dunedin. It is lovely to hear of your superb recent experience.

The Front Office team are thrilled that you found them to be fantastic from go to whoa, providing their typical happily efficient service to you throughout. It is also outstanding that your superbly soporific blackout curtains ensured a restful slumber.

Many gracious thanks again. We would love to see you soon.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews