We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
mossvale
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern but small”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Check in service was great and very helpful in giving directions. We stayed in room 303 the Premier Studio Apartment Elite, however we were disappointed as we had paid to recieve an upgraded larger room which was in all very tiny and the balcony was also quite small. The room did come with washing machine and dryer and also featured a double spa bath and the decor was supberb with a very comfy bed. We were told the views would look over the harbour, however the view was a little bit of a disappointment as you could only see scatters of the harbour. With the parking it was for free but you are on a hill.There are lifts to each floors, and Wi Fi was $5 per 300MB.Location great as was a 5min walk to the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
68
507
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3- night stay here. It was very convenient for the centre of Dunedin, yet quiet and peaceful. The room was excellent, with great facilities. We'd thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as it was fully occupied all the nights we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We sent four very happy nights at the Bluestone. It more than met our expectations. Reception was welcoming, showed us local attractions and restaurants on a city map. The studio room was beautifully designed and furnished: stainless steel kitchen with washer dryer, coffee making, microwave, full size fridge, good selection of glasses and crockery, desk, couch, LCD TV etc. The hotel has good value ethernet broadband and wifi in the room. The bathroom has a huge jacuzzi bath, very good toiletries and plenty of towels. The outside area is pleasantly landscaped with tables for guest use and there is even a small gym. The location at the beginning of the main shopping, cafe and restaurant area on George and Princess streets is ideal. This was everything we needed and excellent value.
Whilst in Dunedin, don't miss the Tairei Gorge train trip (get seats on the right hand side to see the gorge), Otago Peninsula and Larnach Castle, and also drive along the north side of Otago Harbour, past Port Chambers to Aramoana and walk out on The Mole. great views, quiet beaches and seals.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We found this place to be one of the best to stay in during our month of traveling. We enjoyed the spaciousness of the rooms and the inclusions of modern entertainment. The library of DVD movies provided retreat following our long day of sightseeing. The kitchenette and laundry were convenient. The jet spa bath in the bathroom was a great highlight to our evenings (and there are heated floors). Free parking was great and wi-fi Internet was available. Even if you don't have a computer or tablet, they do have free access in the lobby on the hotel laptop. The patio outside the room was quaint with a view of the city. The concierge was very knowledgeable of the city sights and had recommendations for day trips. We would definitely visit this place next time we visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_traveler_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This motel was one of the best equipped we stayed in whilst travelling around New Zealand. Even had a washer/drier. It was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. It was a short stroll to the centre of Dunedin. Russell, the stand-in host, was extremely friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
9.3 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
1.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.5 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.5 km away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price range (per night): $172 - $224
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing