We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had received a warm welcome from the receptionist - or the boss that we found in the end of the day. The room is clean though a bit small. The hotel itself should be a good place to visit in Dunedine as well. We do like the old British style, the breakfast, the balcony as well as the living room atmosphere.

We would recommend the hotel to others for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huijie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    89
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
170
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Good points : very comfortable rooms. I stayed in the queen with access to the balcony. Owners are very welcoming, breakfast is included and is worth it.

Bad points : only the location as it is up in the hills (hence the amazing views).

Go here as it well worth it.

Room Tip: Stay in the queen rooms with access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed here in October 2011. Nice place, comfortable bedroom and a pretty good location in Dunedin. But, it's a bit of a stretch to call the place a boutique hotel. It's more like a nice largish B&B which the owners have stretched it to become a hotel. So, it's neither. I'd still recommend staying here. I was well looked after and the location is good. But it's not a boutique!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Very reasonable priced rooms , had a smallish room but thats probably because i booked last thing , i like the ambience and quaintness of lodgings so this ticked all the boxes for me , great host , great nights sleep , and a scrummie breakfast , i will definitely be back sometime.

Room Tip: If you intend to walk to town and back the hills are really quite steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The wife and I arrived in Dunedin in the early afternoon to this beautiful B&B in the heart of Dunedin. We arrived a bit later than we expected due to the still-snowy weather in Queenstown (we were traveling during the storm that nearly shut the whole south island down), but were were met by the extremely friendly and helpful manager and his loyal dog, Baron (we missed our pups from back home, so it was great to have a dog to pet!).

Upon checking in, we informed the manager that we had a nature tour booked in the early afternoon and if there was anywhere close by to eat so we could make it back to Brothers in time for our pick-up. He pointed us in the right direction (about a five minute walk to The Octogon) and then said that he would call the tour company and tell them to pick us up in downtown so we didn't have to come back to the hotel! Sure enough, the tour company picked us up right where the manager said they would and we had a great day. Brothers is also within short walking distance to the Speight's Brewery so you don't have to worry about driving after the tour (just stumble back to your room), although the hill back to the hotel is quite steep.

Breakfast was great, coffee and tea were brought out promptly and every request was catered to.

The only minor complaint I had was about the quality of the room. While it was clean and comfortable, it was quite small and fairly plain. We had an excellent view of downtown Dunedin (breathtaking at night) but I guess we expected more since we were on our honeymoon. Please don't take this as we were totally disappointed with our stay, but the room fell slightly below our expectations since were were not on just a normal holiday.

All in all, though, I would stay at Brothers again...the service, location and atmosphere of the hotel more than makes up for what the room lacks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptheodore81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.6 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.4 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.5 km away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.0 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Property: The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price range (per night): $142 - $169
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing