We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back yard with a view.”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning sea view
Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Stunning sea view
Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window
Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window
Property
Stunning sea view
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dunedin, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TDM6063
Safety Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back yard with a view.”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Adequate, comfortable and convenient for access to Dunedin. Greg the host was extremely helpful and hospitable, providing freshly baked bread! Great location, Tunnel Beach approx. a stone throw away, well worth the walk from car park.Good fast internet connection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting in country area, views from back yard and Greg's hospitality.
Liked least: All good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill L
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Loved our time here, great host, quiet location, reasonable price, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We loved our stay at Karaka Alpaca Farmstay B&B—freshly baked bread and a huge bowl of rich red home grown tomatoes greeted us daily, plus I got my animal fix with alpacas in the back yard and horses in the front yard. A walk through the Alpaca pasture takes you to a wonderful clifftop view overlooking the ocean, while the other direction is lovely farmlands and rolling hills. This is a great location for exploring Dunedin and The Otago Peninsula. Make sure to take Greg’s suggestion and take the steep walk down to nearby Tunnel Beach (best at low tide, one hour return from the carpark).

Greg, the owner and your host is a friendly, laid back, gentleman. Although we were booked in at the guest cottage, it was being used by Greg’s friend, so Greg in turn moved out and left the whole main house to us! We loved it, but would have been equally happy with the guest cottage. After a wonderful 3 night stay, Greg sent us off to The Catlins and Queenstown with a warm loaf of bread and about 8-lbs of his fresh garden tomatoes…what a deal!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megroy
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed the warmth of both the welcome from Greg and the warmth and comfort of his home. The fire, very comfortable bed, underfloor heating, freshly baked bread every morning and delightful views, made our stay very enjoyable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanNsh
SGP
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay with a great host called Greg”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We found one of the best place to stay while in Dunedin for three nights recently and my family was extremely pleased to have met our host Greg at his farm stay. His warmth and friendliness could be felt throughout our stay and he was evidently interested in keeping his guests feel welcomed.

His property sits on Blackhead Road and is just 30 mins walk away from Tunnel Beach. A walk behind the farmhouse to the top of the alpacas' paddock will give you unbridled view of the Pacific Ocean on one side and of the verdant green pastures on the other. The scenery on the property is world class.

Greg made us a loaf of fresh bread every morning and opened his larder to us for breakfast. He gave us excellent suggestions on places to visit- even outside of Dunedin. We walked at Nugget Point, walked to Tunnel Beach after he confirmed that they were lovely places to visit. We look forward to visiting him at his home again. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host and the view from the property.
Liked least: None.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nontollit...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place, Perfect Host”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed two nights at Greg's place and it was one of my favorite places in all of New Zealand. Super comfy bed, very private, amazing hospitality, warm and cozy, cleanest house I think I've ever been in and Greg made us a loaf of fresh bread every morning and offered us whatever we liked for breakfast, coffee, tea, toast, yogurt, etc. Greg gave us excellent suggestions on places to visit- even outside of Dunedin ( Greg-we made it to the Chasam-bird almost got in the car but left our windshield wipers alone!!). Easy to reach from downtown, only about 10 minutes. The scenery on the property is amazing. Greg took us up the back of the property, through the alpacas, and at the top of the hill it drops off into the ocean! So pretty. There were alpacas, sheep, and a friendly horse to see. For us animal lovers it was fantastic. Don't stay anywhere else in Dunedin!
I found positive reviews for this property on other websites- we didn't go in blind. Search for the farm online and you will find more as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and hospitality
Liked least: nothing, everthing was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing