We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on earth...”
other traveller has booked this property
Cascade Creek Retreat at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cascade Creek Retreat at dusk
Enjoying the beautiful evening at Cascade Crek Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Cascade Creek Retreat at dusk
Enjoying the beautiful evening at Cascade Crek Retreat
Enjoy a unique and wonderful experiene in the teaming hot outdoor bath
Completely private and secluded
Downstairs bedroom
Breakfast in the sun on the deck
Beautiful walks to explore from  the Retreats door step
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunedin, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luxuryb20...
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth...”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Words really can't describe how fabulous Cascade Creek is...you really have to experience the tranquillity and beauty yourself...if you are after somewhere to indulge yourself and reconnect with nature or your partner then this is the place to go... gorgeous outdoor baths with only the bellbirds, tuis and kereru for company...perfect for a romantic getaway, no wifi or tv...perfect! Janene and Dave have done a wonderful job of ensuring anything that you may need has been well catered for ...right down to day packs and water bottles...there are a couple of lovely walks over the farm land and thru the native bush if you feel too guilty laying around reading in the hammock or on the lovely deck...this truly is heaven on earth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenuthou...
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome wedding anniversary.”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Location was everything we dreamed of, totally private with everything you need for a memorable stay.
The log fire, hammock and out door baths are just the best, the out door laundry is very cool too, have already recommended to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: As above.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamoC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly awesome environment - highly recommended.”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent four nights at this gorgeous log cabin in a valley of birdsong. Very few places in NZ that such an experience can be had. The rainy day had us curled up with books in front of the log fire - the next day brilliant and sunny we sat outside and marvelled at the beauty that surrounded us and the birdsong that echoed around all day. An inspired idea to create this special place on their farm. Highly recommended very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael w
beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little taste of luxury in a little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Staying 3 nights in the lovely cabin truly is the high light of our travel to NZ. The moment i stepped on the deck of the cabin i felt like everything i saw from the picture before i made the reservation became real and whats even better is i could finally experience the idea of "home away from home". its definitely hands down the best place i have ever stayed.
What we never expected is the owner came by with a plate of home made cookie to see if we were comfortable and warm as it snowed in the morning. i am saying could you guys be any more thoughtful for your guests?
I'd love to come back to the lovely cabin one day. The only thing i am hoping is it can be longer than 3 nights. Thank you Janene and Dave you really made our travel wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
It was such a pleasure to meet you all and we are very happy you got to experience Cascade Creek Retreat in such a beautiful snowy "winter wonderland!" Thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased we could provide such a highlight on your NZ holiday. We do look forward to seeing you back here one day!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reganmcla...
1 review
“Most amazing place ever!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Was so amazing peaceful with great views great food and defenatly a great chef It was honestly the best place I could have chosen for mine and my partners one year aneversary the private cabin with the big stone open fire made for the most romantic evenings I will be bringing my partner back every year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Cascade Creek Retreat is such a wonderful place to enjoy a romantic getaway, especially something as special as your 1st Anniversary. The combination you mentioned of the stunning views, absolute privacy, large roaring open fire and delicious options of our Chefs gourmet baskets as well as the unique “Dinner In Experience” make for such a memorable special experience. What a wonderful idea to have started a tradition for your both to come back and enjoy everything Cascade Creek Retreat has to offer every year! We look forward to having you stay again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing