We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
37
14
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street shared bathroom old victorian dunedin city centre great place to stay stephen hill cereal
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky to have found this wonderful place to stay in Dunedin. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Feinie and were immediately charmed by both the warmth of our hosts and their beautiful Victorian home. Stephen gave us a tour of the accommodation and we were delighted by the attention he gave to our breakfast the next morning. He knows how to prepare a scrambled egg! In our one night stay we were able to truly relax. From the comfortable bed and warm bath robes provided to the lovely sitting area downstairs... we were absolutely charmed. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yukiKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely old house. Very warm quaint . Excellent breakfast too, hosts very good helpful friendly . Much better value than an hotel but it is a little walk to town, so if not happy to walk/taxi/drive maybe not but otherwise highly recommended. Will use again certainly. Good for families as can book several rooms

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Thank you Chitake for your kind and thoughtful review. We were privileged to have you stay with us, and look forward to meeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We booked a room with shared bathroom but Steven offered us a low cost upgrade to the suite at the back of the property which was virtually a self-contained apartment complete with full kitchen and laundry for a small extra cost.
Being a former tourist coach driver he knew all the best places to go and had heaps of information about the local area.
Great panorama of the city and waterfront from all the rooms.
Excellent breakfast and friendly hosts. Parking was in the street but wasn't a problem for us. High Street is pretty steep if you're thinking of walking in to town!!

Room tip: All the rooms have good views - the front room is probably best.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen and Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Thank you Helen and Rob for your kind review. It was a real pleasure to have you both with us at Highbrae. We really enjoyed hosting you and hope that you will pass this way again in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Although I felt like I was in San Francisco as High Street is like Taylor Street in San Fran, we walked into such a warm welcome from Stephen the proprietor. He is friendly, so helpful and knows much about the area. He went out of his way to accommodate us.My husband had made a mistake in the booking and it was thought it was just him. The room we had had two twin beds. We took it anyway. While we got our suitcases, Stephen had moved the beds together. That was so kind. The place is very, very clean. Rooms have a heater, robes, television, free wifi. I personally loved the view from our room which was in the back. Talk about quiet and a great bed! He even helped us with a car issue we had. The bathroom is beautiful. There are 4 rooms. One is a suite with a private bath and that is the back room. The other rooms share the clean, modern, updated bath. After an incredibly restful night's sleep, we went down to a charming, delicious breakfast. Stephen is the best host of a B & B I've ever experienced. I cannot think of what can be improved. You will be blessed to stay at Highbrae

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gigi0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Thank you Lisa for the lovey review. It was our privilege to have you and your husband stay with us at Highbrae. I trust you enjoyed the remainder of you vacation equally well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Positives: the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the place had old world charm
Negatives: the front room facing the road was noisy and the curtains were too thin, letting a lot of light in which woke us up early

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LisJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2016

Thank you for posting an honest review of Highbrae Guesthouse. We note your comments about the front room being closer the street, which is not something we can do much about. We are however looking at darker curtains for the east facing window to subdue that early morning light. On the positive side you got to enjoy a lovely sunny Dunedin morning, which is rather wonderful don't you think?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews