We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
37
14
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street shared bathroom old victorian dunedin city centre great place to stay stephen hill cereal
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2015

The Highbrae is simply great! It's on High Street, just up the hill (and I do mean UP) from the CBD of Dunedin. The house is a great old Victorian treasure and the owners, Steve (who may in fact be a hobbit) and Finny, his charming wife were like your long-lost uncle and aunt. Our apartment (room doesn't begin to do it justice) had a big full kitchen, big bathroom and a laundry room with washer and dryer. The views of Dunedin and the harbor from the bedroom were stunning. Breakfasts were huge and tasty and to top things off there is a lovely backyard garden. I hope I come back to Dunedin and get to stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LafayetteRiverORF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Manager at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Hey Guys,

Thank you for the great review! I was a little bit nervous about how you would respond to our humble abode. Your fulsome commendation and kind comments have made my day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Highbrae was a highlight of our trip: it's a beautiful home on the top of a crazily high and steep hill with an absolutely stunning view of the harbor from our bedroom. The room was large and comfortable, with an attached kitchen and laundry machine area. Our hosts, Stephen and Finny, were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable with lots of suggestions about restaurants and activities. The breakfast was delicious! Dunedin itself is a really charming city and nearby Otago Peninsula is just breathtaking. Highly recomment!

Room tip: The room at the back of the house, top of the stairs, has an incredible view. (so might the others; we only saw that one).
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogwalkerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Manager at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Thank you kind people for your generous commendation of our B&B it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We spent two nights in the Highbrae Guesthouse while visiting Otago Peninsula and Dunedin.
The owners gave us a nice welcome and helped us on our way with planning our stay and activities, the tip to go see the little blue penguins was very good. The free wifi the owners provided helped us a lot too.
Overall I'd say the accommodation was very good and clean, and we didn't have any problems with the shared bathroom facilities either. The luxurious old bathroom adds a lot to the atmosphere.
The continental breakfast we asked for was tasty and plenty. The location is nice, close to Dunedin and a lot of facilities. We didn't feel like anything was missing and we're very glad we were able to stay here.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Manager at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Thank you for your nice review Geert. It was a pleasure to host both you and your partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Highbrae Guesthouse is a glorious old style pile, with an eclectic collection of antiques. The couple who run the place live next door; they provided us all kind of advice and suggestions. We stayed two nights in the large suite in the back upstairs with the laundry and kitchen facilities. They had upgraded the wifi in this space with a second modem, it ran very smoothly. Breakfast included cooked elements (eggs or one day pancakes), sufficient though not immense. This is a quiet place high on the hill, with a lovely view over the harbor.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nix_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Manager at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Thank you for your kind review . It was a pleasure to have you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

All you could want with comfortable surroundings.
Only a couple of minutes to the city centre, or nip up the road to some handy eateries.
The wife and I spent two relaxing days here and would gladly recommend it to anyone wanting quality accommodation.
As a bonus Stephen is also a local historian, tour guide, weatherman, and a gentleman to boot.
Well done Stephen I hope we catch up again when we next visit that lovely little country across the ditch.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you Mike for your kind review. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews