We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
37
14
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street shared bathroom old victorian dunedin city centre great place to stay stephen hill cereal
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We spent two nights in the Highbrae Guesthouse while visiting Otago Peninsula and Dunedin.
The owners gave us a nice welcome and helped us on our way with planning our stay and activities, the tip to go see the little blue penguins was very good. The free wifi the owners provided helped us a lot too.
Overall I'd say the accommodation was very good and clean, and we didn't have any problems with the shared bathroom facilities either. The luxurious old bathroom adds a lot to the atmosphere.
The continental breakfast we asked for was tasty and plenty. The location is nice, close to Dunedin and a lot of facilities. We didn't feel like anything was missing and we're very glad we were able to stay here.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Manager at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Thank you for your nice review Geert. It was a pleasure to host both you and your partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Highbrae Guesthouse is a glorious old style pile, with an eclectic collection of antiques. The couple who run the place live next door; they provided us all kind of advice and suggestions. We stayed two nights in the large suite in the back upstairs with the laundry and kitchen facilities. They had upgraded the wifi in this space with a second modem, it ran very smoothly. Breakfast included cooked elements (eggs or one day pancakes), sufficient though not immense. This is a quiet place high on the hill, with a lovely view over the harbor.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nix_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Manager at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Thank you for your kind review . It was a pleasure to have you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

All you could want with comfortable surroundings.
Only a couple of minutes to the city centre, or nip up the road to some handy eateries.
The wife and I spent two relaxing days here and would gladly recommend it to anyone wanting quality accommodation.
As a bonus Stephen is also a local historian, tour guide, weatherman, and a gentleman to boot.
Well done Stephen I hope we catch up again when we next visit that lovely little country across the ditch.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you Mike for your kind review. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really struggled to find anywhere to stay in Dunedin so we were very happy to find this place still had a room left! The man who greeted us was very friendly and gave us lots of advice. We took the en-suite room with a kitchen and washing machine built in. When the owner was showing us around he kept make assumptions that I would be handling all the laundry we may want to do because I'm female and my partner is male... he did this multiple times, but I found it funny rather than getting offended as he is a sweet person and I don't think he knew that these days it's not really cool to make those assumptions.

The water pressure was not very good in the room, and whilst the internet was free and unlimited we really struggled to get it to work in the room. The bed was comfortable and the location was ok, although it is up a VERY steep hill. We managed to park outside ok. The breakfast was a bit limited, you got some cereal, egg and toast. Some bacon with the meal would have added to it.

Overall, it was a comfortable room and there were friendly, helpful staff.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarbleMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for your kind review Karen. Glad you had a comfortable sleep, I'll remember to offer you some bacon next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Great rooms and a very kind and helpful host. We could really use the big amount of Internet data available and it was the most comfortable bed we slept in. The room has a very nice atmosphere and the bathroom feels luxurious.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review. It was great to share our place with you. I'm glad you were able to make good use of the Wi Fi :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews