We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”

Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed for two nights and just loved it. Neil and Susan are incredible hosts and we had a lot of very interesting conversations. We had a very spacy bedroom with a most comfortable large bed and a great view. The very clean bathroom is ensuite and there are tea and coffee making facilities on the landing. Free wireless is available. Neil had a lot of good tips where to go and we went to see the royal albatross colony and booked a cruise on the Monarch where we got really lucky because we got to see a lot of wildlife in just two hours. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This is a delightful bed-and-breakfast located on the beautiful Otago peninsula. We stayed three nights earler this year and were made very welcome by our hosts Neil and Susan. In fact, our stay was more like visiting old friends, even though this was the first time we had visited the area. We had the larger of the two bed-rooms, with a fantastic view over the bays and a to-die-for extra large bed. The hearty breakfasts were varied and gave us a good start to the day. A visit to nearby Sand Fly Bay is a must, but do find the "easy" route down (and back). My wife is still recovering from the climb back up to the car!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenLynne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at Porterfields for 2 nights in April and we really loved it. The hosts Susan and Neil are lovely. Our room upstairs was well-kept with en suite and separate entrance. Everything was well-kept and clean. We loved it to chat with Susan and Neil with a cup of tea in their living room. They are experienced travellers as well and we loved to listen to their the impressions from eastern Europe.

All around a perfect stay to visit the Otago Peninsula and Dunedin.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Our hosts were fantastic and their B&B very comfy - could not recommend it more!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed in the Porterfields B&B for two nights and we just loved it there. The B&B is very cosy with a special warm atmosphere. We stayed in the double room with a comfortable king size bed and great views.
Susan and Neil are just perfect hosts that are very interested in their guests' stories. They gave us a lot of ideas what to do and we enjoyed listening to their stories about travelling to Europe. We loved sitting in their living room having a cup of tea together and chatting away. We can highly reccommend the B&B for everyone who is looking for great company in a cosy atmosphere. You will love it! :-)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_Markus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.9 km away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
2.1 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.8 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
2.5 km away
Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat
4.4 km away
Captain Eady's Lookout
Captain Eady's Lookout
#27 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porterfields Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porterfields Bed And Breakfast

Property: Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Address: 30 Porterfield Street | Macandrew bay, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Porterfields Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing