We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms”
Review of Motel on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel on York
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here two nights and loved it - one of the nicest rooms we had on our trip. The location is perfect and convenient for walking around the city. My favorite part of the stay here was exploring the Otago Peninsula. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here on day 17 of our 25 day tour of N.Z. The Motel room was clean/tidy & was comfortable. The staff were friendly & helpful. The motel is situated just a short walk from Dunedin shopping centre & restaurants. On our tour of N.Z. we have stayed in motels just in case we wanted to prepare a meal & eat in the room. This was the only place where the only facility was a microwave.(Only good enough for heating through ready meals etc.). Somehow for what was described as a superior studio room - we expected a little more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Motel on York is situated in the heart of Dunedin City. A very short walk to the Octagon, shopping and restuarants.
I have stayed at this motel a couple of times now and have always received friendly service.
The managers help me with my luggage to the room and are able to help with any advise on restuarants and any local attractions.
The rooms are always presented to a high standard. The managers obviously try to keep everything immaculate.
We receive a complimentary newspaper and they have 50mb free internet which I found was enough for me to do my emails.
This is my motel of choice when I am in Dunedin because of the fanastic service, facilities and the location

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I have stayed at the York twice for business in the city. Both times the same impeccable, friendly service from the managers who ensure you are hosted to your room and know how everything works etc. lovely rooms with great appointments. Only thing I noted for improvement was some privacy fencing between the courtyards of the rooms with this facility. Otherwise you pop out onto what seems like a private space to find your neighbour there too...plenty of space to do this and would just add a special touch to a wonderful facility. this comment in no way detracts from the great accommodation and service. On tray continental breakfast available or breakfast restaurants close by on main st. Great location for central city business and nice alternative to std hotel rooms at larger tarrif.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totarapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I attended the hens night at this Motel on Saturday night. As soon as I arrived and politely asked what room Sam_281 was in I was greeted with suspicion. This was followed by the owner giving Sam_281 a "dressing down" for choosing to host a party there. This was 2pm in the afternoon and Sam_281 and I quietly discussed how bad we were made to feel about this situation and how we would make sure we could be reasonably quiet and ensure the place was left spotless the next day. The room was lovely and we all treated the property with the respect it deserved. I will add most of us attending were in the late 20s to late 50s age bracket so it was not like we were 18 year old gang members using the place inappropriately. To the owners I would firmly suggest clearly stating a "NO PARTY" policy and then no guests will suffer any undue judgement and you can stop worrying about your property being damaged.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YtsrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 61 in Dunedin
400 reviews
0.3 km away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#42 of 61 in Dunedin
130 reviews
0.5 km away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#46 of 61 in Dunedin
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.4 km away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on York

Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $121 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing