We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, great food in pub.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Ranked #11 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
southern california
2 reviews
“Lovely room, great food in pub.”
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Very nice place. Room was large, well furnished and in a lovely building. Right next door was the Pomeroy pub with really good food. The only issue was that like, seemingly, every other bathroom sink in Australia and New Zealand the water pressure is so high that when you turn on the faucet, the water splashes off the sink and on to the floor. Evidently under sink, shut off valves are an idea that has not reached this part of the world, so one cannot throttle the flow to correct this annoying issue. Pub's outdoor seating area was a little noisy, but we were not facing it and did not hear anything in our room.

Room Tip: ask for room away from pub seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alangoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    27
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We arrived in Christchurch very early in the morning and after a wonderful breakfast at Little Poms (also leaving our luggage with one of the helpful waiters). This was really helpful for us at the start of our trip. When we checked in, early in the afternoon we were delighted to find that the room was beautifully decorated, very warm and spacious.
We stayed here three nights, enjoyed the breakfast in Little Poms (cafe next door where brekky is served) and dinner in the Pomeroys Old Brewery, it was all really well done, helpful and happy staff and consistently good food.
I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay, rooms are large and very comfortable. We didn't need to use the laundry facilities but they are easily available. I thought good value for money, couldn't go wrong staying here. I was slightly wondering about breakfast facilities as not on site, but only a the other end of the building. Really good scrambled eggs on sourdough and excellent coffee too!

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Herself7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

First time in this pub. Met some friends after work. Relaxed atmosphere. Good music. Good selection of beers. Outdoor area and lots of seating. Pool table. Great place for after work drinks. Very casual and has that old English pub kind of feel.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Herodeniro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Awesome B&B with cute rooms and heated bathroom floors. Free tea and coffee combined with a great brekky at a local cafe all included for great value. The pub next door is a great spot too. Wifi was spotty but totally forgivable given that everything else was delightful

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,844 reviews
2.4 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
1.0 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 134 in Christchurch
839 reviews
1.6 km away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 134 in Christchurch
375 reviews
1.1 km away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 145 in Christchurch
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomeroy's on Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomeroy's on Kilmore

Property: Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Address: 284 Kilmore Street | adjacent to Old Brewery Inn, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $128 - $163
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomeroy's on Kilmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Pomeroy's on Kilmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing