We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Ranked #10 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this old world charm”
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Sensational rooms; really spacious with lovely attention to detail. Share kitchen, plentiful with supplies. Great pub next door, only 31 craft beers! Plus a menu that had us dancing on the tables. Well worth a visit for a night or two

Room Tip: Book early for a table at the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegarvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    27
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Pomeroys is easy walking from the city centre - it's got a great traditional British pub feel about it.

They have a substantial beer and wine selection. It's such a perfect spot for Sunday evening beers and live music.

Great beer garden in the summer!

Stayed April 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jameslaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015

A few reviewers complained about the noise. We found it to be no problem and our room overlooked the pub. All was quiet by 10:45. The room is spacious and very clean. The shared dining room is lovely. We had a door to the garden - some furniture on the deck would be a welcome addition. Strongly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We met up with some mates from South Africa and enjoyed their company in a very crowded bar!! The tables were all full because it was the weekend of the Beer Fest. We made ourselves comfy on the chairs and sofas and drank the night away. We ordered nachos, fish & chips and a venison dish. They were all awesome. The atmosphere was fun and enjoyable!! Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

I really don't know where to start! I'd read such good reviews about this place but it still exceeded expectations.

After a truly whistle stop and fairly exhausting 9 day tour of the South Island I had booked pomeroy's for a 2 night treat before heading out of NZ and I'm so glad I did.

After i booked it I read a review saying that the Kilmore room (which I had booked) was very small so I was a little worried but I really needn't have been. Too small?! Hardly. Firstly I think it probably is smaller than the other rooms but that is reflected in the price. And there is still plenty of room. Ok I was on my own, but I don't see any reason why as a couple you would not have enough space...unless you really don't like each other...and besides, typically the idea is not to spend the whole time in the room but to get out and about.

The way they've decorated the room and used the space is delightful and clever, the en suite especially, and there's a sizeable built in wardrobe.

It's not that far a walk into the centre, I couldn't say exactly because I sort of ambled and explored as I went and so didn't take the most direct route, but i was at the botanic gardens within 20-30 minutes even going indirectly.

The breakfast was AMAZING, seriously. All the staff were so friendly and helpful while not at all being 'in your face'. There's such a relaxed atmosphere.

Helpful mini maps and leaflets in the room, not to mention some really lovely little touches which all added up to make such a fantastic stay, I only wish it could have been longer. Oh and having the pub next door? Bonus!! (I'll review that separately!)

Thank you Pomeroy's I had a simply wonderful stay and it was exactly the relaxing and re-energising stay I needed. I really hope to visit Christchurch, and yourselves, in future (for me now, a visit to Christchurch and a stay at Pomeroy's are synonymous)...my only worry is that I will have to book way in advance due to your thoroughly deserved popularity!

Stayed March 2015, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ceryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,830 reviews
2.4 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
1.0 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 134 in Christchurch
839 reviews
1.6 km away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 134 in Christchurch
375 reviews
1.1 km away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 145 in Christchurch
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomeroy's on Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomeroy's on Kilmore

Property: Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Address: 284 Kilmore Street | adjacent to Old Brewery Inn, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $128 - $164
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomeroy's on Kilmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Pomeroy's on Kilmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing