We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brickledown

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Christchurch, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lovestode...
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Property”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a remarkable property for the four of us to call home during our Christchurch stay. Our only regret was not having longer to enjoy both the city and Brickledown. Jo had beautiful flowers and roses in the courtyard. The landscape of the property was pristine!

Brickledown was a perfect arrangement for the 4 of us. My husband and I were traveling with his sister and my aunt. The number of bedrooms and baths (as well as the size) was just what we needed. The quality of the mattresses, pillows, bedding and linens were excellent as were the bath towels. The kitchen was modern and well-appointed. The convenience of the newly installed wi-fi was greatly appreciated.

On the last evening of our stay, right at midnight, the earth started to rock and roll. By the time the initial quake had settled down some 2 minutes later we had experienced a 7.8 magnitude earthquake. Brickledown proved to be a sturdy bunker to ride out the initial earthquake and the many, many after shocks. Jo was so kind to check on us and to make several calls on our behalf to see if our scheduled flight out of Christchurch was still a go.

Seeing the resilience of Christchurch in the midst of the tragic 2011 earthquake was amazing. As we had toured the city on the first day of our visit we saw a city and her people that were moving forward with their lives while never forgetting the ones that perished. Christchurch you stole our hearts and we're looking forward to another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind review Renae.....
It was lovely to host you all,......you will be forever connected to Christchurch now being fellow 'earthquakies'!
We hope to see you all in Christchurch again one day.
Kind regards,
JO and ROB.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djournot
Parsons, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, cozy home away from home”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Brickl!edown in Christchurch. The location was great and easy to find. The home was awesome! Beautifully furnished, immaculately clean and had everything we could possibly need. Thank you so much for opening your home to us! I wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, cozy bedrooms
Liked least: Nothing. Everything was great!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scheffl
2 reviews
“Beautiful house with everything you could want”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Centrally located, beautifully appointed house that felt like home. If I was to ever visit Christchurch again this would be the place that I would stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintinbik...
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent House”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This homely house is a perfect place for a family stay away! Sleeping up to six people, the house/bungalow is very light and modern. The kitchen was very cleverly designed and guests have access to a washing machine and a dryer situated in a garage for the guests car. Unfortunately, the house does not have any WI-FI, this might bother teenagers but not me! Apart from that, this house is perfect!

Friendly and helpful hosts.

6 out of 5 if it were possible.
Thoroughly enjoyable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: No Internet
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucketlis...
Pembroke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful stay at Brickledown”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, Jo and Rob could not do enough for us. The cottage was excellent and it was an short bus ride to center town. would rent it again if we go back to Christchurch

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing