We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Maharaja Indian Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,201 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for good Indian food. We were a party of 9 and the service was exceptional. The food was flavorful and served to order. The staff were extremely accommodating and even gave a dessert to the only child at our table. We selected this restaurant based on the reviews and we were very satisfied with the quality of the food and service. Wonderful end to our night!

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Shirani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great menu with plenty of choices, staff were attentive despite the restaurant being very, very busy. Starters were OK, though the main courses were better. We had the mixed starter which was three different Indian starters on a plate, this is our normal choice when dining at an Indian restaurant and I have seen better. I chose a mango chicken dish for the main course with some boiled rice. It was delicious and the naan was excellent. It was lovely and thin rather than doughy. The restaurant is clearly popular with parties and due to the noise it might not be the best place for a romantic evening! We will go back again when we visit Christchurch again.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hilz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely night out for my nephew from Perth's 21st birthday. From the entrees to the mains we were all delighted and effusive in the praise for the amazing and tasty food available. We chose the platters as entrèes which was an excellent choice to start. The wide choice of mains selected meant we could try a number of dishes. The goat curry was a highlight. Aside from all this the service was exceptional as we had a separate area for our party and were made to feel special. Thank you to management and staff. Recommended.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank oldmanonthepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Had an awesome family meal for a birthday with our 2 kids. Excellent curries and awesome service. Definitely the best Indian restaurant we have been to for a long time. We will be back!!

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank A1361BZmattg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Great service, food and drinks. The staff were attentive but not overbearing and the meals were quick and generous. Very reasonably priced - easily the best Indian restaurant in Christchurch :)

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MaddieN41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharaja Indian Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Maharaja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing