We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
11
20
20
11
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
20
20
11
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I don't recommend this hostel at all it was grubby and strange and too far from anything in a odd part of the city where there is nothing to do if you don't have a car you are stuck there. The reception staff were rude and uninviting.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlexH6629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pointbreakbp, Owner at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not like our backpackers. We try to be friendly to every guest. We are close to the beach, there is an excellent bus service to most destinations in the city and New Brighton has many unique shops.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Regards
Point Break Backpacker Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

While surprisingly, it did not end up to be the worst place we stayed. Our dorm was very unfriendly and at 9pm when we returned for bed, we were glared at for opening the door, though all lights stayed shut off.

The internet was poor and the facilities were fairly dirty and the location is not good at all. The area feels unsafe when you're walking back from the waterfront.

I would not recommend this as an option for anyone, regardless of your budget. Not worth the rate and you can find better for similar prices.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reyne625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pointbreakbp, Owner at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not like our backpackers. We try to be friendly to every guest. We are close to the beach, there is an excellent bus service to most destinations in the city and New Brighton has many unique shops.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Regards
Point Break Backpacker Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

The receptionist was friendly, but the building was dirty and smelled funny. Also not in the best location- felt sketchy especially at night. The mix of people staying here was a weird mix and my friend and I felt very uncomfortable there. Would not recommend staying. We ran into another traveler in Queenstown who had also stayed at Point Break and did not enjoy it either.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pointbreakbp, Owner at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not like our backpackers. We try to be friendly to every guest. We are close to the beach, there is an excellent bus service to most destinations in the city and New Brighton has many unique shops.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Regards
Point Break Backpacker Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Wow.. this is the worst. The govt. give homeless people vouchers to stay here for free ... I had money stolen, food stolen from fridge - all of it! all my stuff rifled through.. had to stop someone coming in the window at night to burgle the place.. intimidating people grunt at you in shared spaces and the smell of dirty living all around.

Room tip: don't - or private.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulianMischiefMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pointbreakbp, Owner at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If they are informed, the staff make every effort to correct situations like this.
We try to be friendly to every guest. We are close to the beach, there is an excellent bus service to most destinations in the city and New Brighton has many unique shops.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Regards
Point Break Backpacker Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The general feel of the hostel is run down, grubby and dangerous.

Staff at reception seemed totally incompetent with the job in hand and seemed to let anyone enter the hostel creating a strange feeling as locals mixed with backpackers.

The room I had was smelly but with a tiny window for fresh air (other dorm room had no windows at all), the shower room attached with the light on could be seen by other room users so if you don't mind people watching you shower it might be alright. The main shower block smelt strongly of urine but perhaps this was from drunk behavior rather than lack of cleaning.

Guests here partied at night and walked into rooms with music playing on phones while others slept, most dorm rooms were left wide open so security for me was an issue. We also had a non guest sleeping in our room one night and found random people sleeping in the TV room also. The door code was not changed throughout our stay which could easily have fixed this issue.

I had sympathy for the night porter and cleaners though who have to deal with the locals staying there and the resulting chaos. The owner however must take responsibility and start implementing changes with who is allowed to stay here and improve security for the safety of backpackers.

If you stay here I urge you to stay alert and keep an eye on your things.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MackemAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

We are sorry that you felt that the hostel was dirty and unsafe. We try very hard here to ensure that all guests, no matter where they are from, have a safe and enjoyable stay at our backpackers.
In terms of the doors being left unlocked and open, we are working hard to educate our guests that the doors do not lock automatically. This is an older building and as funds allow we are updating security. The code for the guest entry to the hostel is changed on a regular basis and we monitor, to the best of our abilities, who is coming into the hostel. If we are told, at the time of the incident, that there is someone in the hostel that guests feel shouldn't be there or who is making them uncomfortable we will act on this immediately.
I hope that the rest of your trip met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews