We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
23
26
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
26
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews labour weekend stayed here on arrival quick stop short drive handy location long flight gerald rosebank units motorway wedding johns hosts airport motel cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I want to commend Gerald and his wife for a wonderful time at his motel the weekend of our wedding. We booked some time in advance as it was Labour Weekend, and Gerald was extremely accommodating with changes in numbers, and requests for rooms as we got closer to the wedding date. The r ates are very affordable as well.
I had many visitors from out of town, and all stayed at this location as our reception and wedding was right next door at Rosebank (That is another story).
Gerald and Sharyn were gracious and kind hosts who provided us with everything we needed for wedding prep, including a suite for my husband and his groomsmen to get dressed in, for which they gave us a great discount as they boys only used the unit for a couple of hours to get into their kilts.
The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and there was a shuttle from/to the airport for our out of town guests leaving the next day.
Even though there is a motorway within view, the motel is very quiet, and once the doors to units were closed, little to no sound could be heard and we were not disturbed.
If you are needing a motel near the airport, or north side of town, or even Hornby (Which is a short drive on Johns Road away), this is the place for you.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChardonnayMotorLodge, General Manager at Chardonnay Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you Fiona for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you and your group enjoyed staying with us, you also had the perfect weather for your wedding. Rosebank is right next door to us, perfect if you are having a wedding or function there. Yes we have found that we get very little traffic noise from the new motorway and Johns Road, even less now that they have put down the new quiet road seal.
We are only 8 minutes from the airport and we provide a free shuttle service during the day.
We might see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here last month while in the Christchurch. Hosts were very accommodating for my early check in (as wedding started prior to normal check in). Handy location to airport too as had a 7am flight. Did very little but sleep in the hotel, but it was clean and tidy. I would stay again if in the area.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mw00ding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald H, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for giving us a nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when you are next in ChCh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as our first stop after a long flight and at the start of our two week vacation. The location was convenient, although due to construction on the main highway it was harder to find coming from the airport than we had anticipated. The hosts were very helpful and gracious. The rooms were adequate for one nights stay. The rooms were clean. The only issue I had was the main doors to the rooms are glass and aren’t completely sealed. The doors aren’t see through, but there was no proper seal or deadbolt. Overall it was worth the price and great after a long journey for a quick stop before the rest of our adventure.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald H, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review. Coming from the airport you now take the Rosebank/ Belfast exit before you get onto the Motorway. Our entrance is on Groynes Drive which that exit takes you directly to. There is a lock on the main door, the doors have to be able to be opened from the inside without a key in case of an emergency such as a fire. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay and we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We booked through flybuys for 1 night and feel 700 fly buy points totally wasted.
The cleanliness was fair. Missing handles on the wardrobe, dirty sinktop in the bathroom. Broken flush button on the toilet. The join between carpet and lino very poor and had a tack or sharp object protruding. Unit needs a major overhaul. Bed was comfy enough and our unit was pretty quiet which was great. Lack of blind on door meant outside lighting keep the unit too lit up and night when trying to sleep.
Sky was good, and being self contained was good.

Room tip: if booking through flybuys ask to pay a little more and get an upgrade
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald H, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

We will look into the little issues you raised. The outside light can be turned off, instructions in compedium. With the dirty sinktop we leave the window on saftey latch so dust may had blown in from outside, sorry we should of checked it. We are always on site and if there are any issues you can raise and discuss them with us. We can then try to rectify them. I'm disappointed that you were unable to do that. We are looking into installing either a blind or curtain over the front doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Great hosts - picked me up free of charge from the airport, even though my flight got in at 9.30pm. Room while basic was clean, tidy, warm. Great shower, tv, comfortable and central. Close to airport.

Room tip: I stayed in both unit 4 and 1, 1 is more modern and only has 1 neighbouring unit.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 688tanjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald H, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when you are next in Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews