We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
720
229
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
229
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanic gardens great location the main house city centre tram stop old house hagley park b and b guest house art gallery new zealand walking distance canterbury museum victoria street cooked breakfast breakfast was excellent studio apartment
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had a lovely 3 night stay in the motel. Kimberley was very helpful, attentive and charming. The motel is just a quick walk from the city centre and Botanic Gardens which were beautiful. Our room was just as we expected and very comfortable. It was also quiet. We would definitely stay again when in Christchurch.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anglokiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Easy to find and only a short walk to the city centre of Christchurch, the botanical gardens and River Avon, this is a thoroughly modern spotlessly clean accommodation with plenty of on site parking. Huge, comfortable bed, air conditioning, free WiFi, fridge, microwave, a small work top cooker and adequate utensils etc., the bathroom is beautiful with a huge shower. Friendly managers welcomed us and showed us to our room which had bi-fold doors opening onto a pretty courtyard with plenty of flower and shrubs and also tables and chairs.
The motel also offers breakfasts for an extra payment.
The fabulous trams also go down Armagh Street so up to 5 or 6 pm depending on the time of year you can hop off or on. This is city still bearing the scars and consequences of the terrible earthquake in 2011 so expect a little disruption but I can assure you this property and Christchurch are well worth a visit and the people are absolutely fantastic.

Room tip: If you are a less able traveller any of the ground floor rooms would suit really well, and a disabled parking space is provided.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Susan,

Thank you for your reviews above and hope to meet you next time.

Best regards,
Kimberly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Four of us stayed at The Grange for 2 nights and it was perfect. We were on a room only basis but had lovely breakfast each day, and the location was great for walking around Christchurch. The room was very spacious with all facilities we needed, a fabulous shower room, and we slept well - what more could you want!
Linda and her colleagues were so helpful nothing was too much trouble, and we felt very welcome. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Ours was a ground level room not in the main house, which was perfect for us travelling and having to sort cases before we moved on.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AMB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi AMB0,

Thank you for your reviews above and it is nice to have four of you staying at The Grange. Hope to accommodate you next time.

Best regards,
Kimberly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Here for two nights in March and the accommodations could not have been better. The staff is very helpful and our studio room in back of the main house was clean with a huge updated bathroom and all the amenities. The property is also located on the tram line which is very convenient for touring around. On site parking is also free. Be aware that not all rooms have breakfast included but you can purchase breakfast for between $10 and $15 for a huge amount of food. It's the best deal in town!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hockeyho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Stayed one night at the Grange Boutique which is about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Christchurch. The accommodation was excellent and very clean. Massive bathroom with walk in shower and toiletries provided. The owners of the hotel are extremely friendly and accommodating and provided a delicious breakfast before our onward journey. There is also on site parking. Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuvGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi MuvGeez,

Thank you for your reviews above and we are working hard to make every customer feeling happy and comfortable when they stay at The Grange. Hope to meet you next time.

Best regards,
Kimberly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews