We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our first choice but was acceptable”
Review of Country Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Glen Lodge
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Falmouth, Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not our first choice but was acceptable”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We had booked into Tuscana Lodge for the next night, but on arriving in Christchurch a day ahead of schedule the Tuscana were fully booked so they helpfully arranged for us to stay across the road at The Country Glen Lodge. We were pleased with the accommodation it was a spacious one bed apartment, for $145, $10 more than the studio at Tuscana.

The kitchen & bathroom facilities were good.

The owner Ian was friendly & helpful, and even let me use his old laptop to access the internet. They are currently undergoing some disruption following the earthquake, and the large old building in the centre of the complex is closed as unsafe. This means they have relocated their office (? and their home?) into one of the motel units which is a still a little chaotic.

We were a little disturbed first thing in the morning by the traffic as our bedroom was close to the road, and in the daytime, as the previous reviewer says, there was an annoying loud ringing whenever the phone rang, however I didn't ever hear this at night and assumed the loudspeaker was turned off then.

In the end we also stayed the second night at Country Glen, to help out Tuscana who had a guest who wanted to extend their stay, though Colin from Tuscana still kindly drove us to the airport as arranged early the next morning.

I think if we returned to Christchurch we would either try the Tuscana or maybe try and stay somewhere nearer to the city centre as it was quite a long walk, however I'm sure that would involve more dollars!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    36
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
50
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This was a nice place to stay. At first...

Ian, the owner was pleasant and easy to talk to. He does tend to keep going if you dont tell him politely to stop. Sometimes you just want to get going or if you have had a long day, you just want to get in your room.

First stay here was great, no problems. Clean, spacious and at a good price.
Second stay was sleep less. I absolutely hated the phone ringing out side. They have a massive speaker hooked up to the phone system and as soon as they got a call, the phone would ring and blast the whole place with a ringing sound. Very unpleasant.

Not sure if I will come back because of that.

I loved the bathrooms though. Clean, and showers were like a massive cubical. Soap dispensers were great. Shower heads could do with a bit more flexibility. They had limited angles you could point them at.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This was my 5th time staying at the Country Glen Lodge.You couldnt ask for a better location. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are friendly and full of great advice. Next time we will be using the conference facilities for are markrting. The Country Glen offer the package, great rooms,great location and great value. Thank you once again.I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinglifeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Had reserved 2 nights at Tuscana, but that owner met us at airport and informed us of no room, so had booked us across the road instead at Country Glen. We got a 1-bedroomed unit that was clean, spacious and well equipped, albeit dated. Friendly enough chap on front desk but having flown half way around the world, I don't really want to start playing games of putting pins on a map where I'm from or listening for over 10mins about detailed locations/directions of restaurants/town etc, when I've made it quite clear I just want to go to bed! This motel is not handy for town as it takes over 25mins to walk into Cathedral Square. It is on a very busy road and not set back as other reviews stipulate. I wouldn't stay here again because of the noise and location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailmaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2010

The perfect location for an extraordinary enjoyable stay in Christchurch: the “Country Glen Lodge” – a beautiful, historical charming motel. Centrally located in Christchurch, it is a perfect base to explore the beautiful city with all its gardens, historical buildings and unique culture. The clean, warm and comfortable units promise a memorable stay for everyone who is looking for affordable but high standard accommodation.
Moreover, the exceptional hospitality and friendly atmosphere surpasse every expectation.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulknoblauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.2 km away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.9 km away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#34 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.4 km away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#22 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 km away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#65 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Glen Lodge

Property: Country Glen Lodge
Address: 107 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $94 - $122
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Glen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Glen Hotel
Country Glen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing