We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but far away”
Review of Foley Towers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foley Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice, but far away”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed here two nights before flying out of Christchurch in a 3 bed dorm. It was pretty cheap for New Zealand standards and the rooms were comfy and functional. The beds weren't bunkbeds which was nice and there was a sink in the room.

The lounge and the TV room are pretty cosy and there's a few board games that are good fun to play when waiting for a shuttle to the airport. The kitchens (2 of) are pretty big and come well equipped with spices pots and pans etc.

Theres a pretty good collection of books for exchange and the laundry is cheap at $2 a wash (in heavy duty washing machines) and $2 for the dryer. One disadvantage for the hostel was that it was pretty far away from town a good 15 minute walk to the main area but there is a free town shuttle bus that stops about 5 minutes away from the hostel every 10-15 minutes.

I would recommend this place because it's good value for money and pretty cosy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dv912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    37
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
40
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Well, this was a nice, clean hostel which was only a 10 minute walk from town. It is situated opposite a nice coffee shop and health food shop (Piko). The TV room was okay, but no DVDs were available (well not that I saw) and the lounge (not the TV lounge) was nice and big and relaxing. I stayed in a 3 share dorm which was nice - decent matress, decent pillow and a nice duvet... they even supply a hot water bottle :) The room ha underfloor heating but no actual heating in the room which can make it a bit cold at times. There is a toilet and a shower (both with heated floor) next to each room which is handy. There is also a sink in the 3 share room, but this can be a pain when roomies decide to clean their teeth at 7am!

The large kitchen was closed for refubishment which meant that the little kitchen was chaotic for hours when the hostel is busy but hopefully they will open the refurbed kitchen soon so dont let this put you off staying.

The manager was a bit up and down, sometimes she was really nice, other times she made you feel like you were a nuisance, and I wasnt the only one to think that! There was also a French girl covering reception some days, and she was lovely and really made you feel welcome, the other manager should take a leaf out of her book ;)

A nice hostel all in all, clean and tidy :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themoonlightraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Depending what you after, Foley Towers is a great hostel. Its located slightly out of the city centre but is only a short walk. Its not a lively sort of hostel which you find in the town centre, but its very friendly and is a nice place to relax.
Very clean everywhere.
Helpful staff with good recommendations.
Big, well equipped kitchens.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

We stayed in a standard double room at Foley towers. It is well laid out and, although it is a big hostel, it still felt cosy. There were enough bathrooms for it to never be a problem and they were nice and clean. The kitchen and lounge areas were great, although got a bit full at meal times! Unfortunately there were quite a few groups of travellers staying (who spoke different languages to us) and we didn't really get to chat to other people very much (something I've found tends to happen when staying in larger hostels). The hostel was nice and close to the city and we were able to walk everywhere. Overall, a good base for your Christchurch stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rowbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2006

My wife and I spent ten days around and including Christmas at Foley Towers. We found the personnel to be most friendly and helpful. Our accommodations were reasonable in price, en suite included. For Christmas Day, they had a wonderful bar-b-que, with a whole lamb roasted in the open. This was a wonderful spot, comfortable walking distance to the heart of the Cathedral district. There were great eating places nearby, the Avon River was beautiful, and we had good off-street parking. We heartily recommend Foley Towers.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank BOUSARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 km away
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
#11 of 133 in Christchurch
125 reviews
0.9 km away
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
#5 of 105 in Christchurch
187 reviews
1.2 km away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 133 in Christchurch
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 105 in Christchurch
110 reviews
1.0 km away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#19 of 105 in Christchurch
213 reviews
0.8 km away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 144 in Christchurch
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Towers

Property: Foley Towers
Address: 208 Kilmore Street, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $30 - $46
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First try Foley Towers! Fabulously friendly, finest facilities and fantastic value for independent travellers - we just charge less. Gorgeous gardens. Underfloor heating, lashings of hot water, loads of space. Off-street parking and free luggage storage. Bunks in dorm rooms only. Free WiFi. Wonderful winter specials. No loud parties, no backpacker bus crowds or hard sell. Check in after 9pm by arrangement. You can usually extend your stay before 10am if you're too relaxed to move on. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foley Towers Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing