We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
271
112
24
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
112
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kitchenette area spa bath excellent motel studio room new zealand cathedral square place to stay two nights comfortable bed within walking distance free wifi enjoyed our stay min walk earthquake damage first floor the ground floor south island
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Location is walking distance to city centre, maybe about 10 minutes. Everything is good and functional, but if you stay on the second floor, you have to carry your bags as no elevator is available. Reception very helpful with recommendations. Big thanks..

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tulang_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

What a find! Quiet,clean, spacious, comfortable lounge chairs, a cosy comfortable large bed and they also provide as a choice a memory foam pillow, bliss. Thanks Henri for all the friendly assistance.

Room Tip: Just ask Henri as your requirements, we did as was a hospital stay and she chose correctly for us. Super host.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StevensClan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Our studio unit was spacious, quiet and clean with good facilities. We will definitely stay here again. Reception also very helpful with recommendations for dining/cocktails!
Very large bed was comfortable and unit was very clean.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenzview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColomboInTheCity, Owner at Colombo in the City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

We are all about cleanliness we pride ourselves on it and we are the best location in town handy to most things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

This is the only motel we were staying in for our two week holiday in NZ. We picked it because of good reviews and it offered a late night check-in - which suited us nicely as our flight from Sydney got in at 11:30pm. Everything was exactly as mentioned in other reviews. We got our rooms and the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and warm. There was no goldilocks pillow (one was too hard and one was too soft, neither were just right) but that was only a minor issue. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColomboInTheCity, Owner at Colombo in the City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

The firm pilows are memory pillows that were suggested by Qualmark to have that is why we give one soft one and one firm one. Glad you enjoyed staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

This motel is well appointed. A short walk to the centre of the city, we stayed in Room 811, upstairs. The owners had the heater on so it was comfortable and inviting on arrival. It is spacious, has excellent kitchen facilities including quality crockery, the bathroom has a spa bath, the bed is huge and very comfortable, the television is well positioned and the room is immaculately clean and quiet.
We stayed our last 2 nights here after a 2 week NZ holiday and it left us with a good feeling about quality service for a very reasonable price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColomboInTheCity, Owner at Colombo in the City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews