We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience TranzAlpine Train
from USD 140.15
More Info
from USD 140.15
More Info
from USD 121.16
More Info
from USD 431.32
More Info
Reviews (3,444)
Filter reviews
3,444 results
Traveller rating
2,176
906
265
58
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,176
906
265
58
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arthur's pass viewing carriage observation car south island open carriage buffet car southern alps large windows greymouth station open air new zealand audio commentary comfortable seats right hand side dining car return journey stunning scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 3,444 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2019

Husband and I travelled in August 2019 and chose to cross the South Island via the TranzAlpine line. Was a wonderful journey with eye watering vistas, informative commentary, lovely crew and great set-up. On-board food and drinks were good and reasonable. Service was great. I would do it again and recommend it to anyone.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2019

We were blown away by the astounding beauty of the landscape travelling on the transalpine from Christchurch to Greymouth. The food carriage was great but make sure you get food before Arthur's Pass because it closes for 20 minutes while you got through the 8km tunnel to Otira. Or wait like we did until you get out the other side! So many opportunities for photographs. You need to go to the open carriage to experience the wind, the noise and the freezing cold! An amazing experience we will always remember!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank KylieM1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2019

From the moment we boarded the train, the memories were created
Our seats were allocated on the left side of train facing way of travel. We were lucky to have table chairs by ourselves.
The views were magnificent. Snow capped mountains, beautiful blue rivers, frosty grasses, freshly born lambs and calves. It was all truly magnificent.
There was a fresh assortment of food in the cafe/bar ranging from coffee, muffins and beautiful ham sandwiches.
The staff were very professional. The commentary was very informative.
We particularly liked the stop at Arthur's Pass. There was snow piled on the platform which was amazing for me as I have never seen snow before. I had the opportunity to make a snow ball.
We returned the same day with seats again at a table by ourselves, on the opposite side of the train so we could see views from a different perspective.
The open air carriage was amazing. I do recommend wearing many warm clothes if venturing in winter. It was very chilly/windy but well worth it.
I can highly recommend this train journey.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank sparklesjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2019 via mobile

Had a great trip from Greymouth to Queenstown as part of our tour with Haka Tours. Very comfortable ride with beautiful views!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Sarahannejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2019

Lovely way to see the country and learn a lot in interesting things. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The food was tasty and they had plenty of options.
They provide headphones and give commentary on different things to view along the way, and give information on geography, history, economics and lots of other areas of interest. I would recommend this trip as a nice way to travel across the country.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank JoanneH1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews