We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge
Ranked #54 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here for one night last weekend. Complex is alot bigger than it looks from the road with a very cool castle like theme, loved it! Room had everything we needed and a comfy bed! Great location. Would deffiently stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    131
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
125
144
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Staff were friendly and very helpful.The room we had was very very basic and so was the bathroom.the building itself is interesting. I would recommend this hotel but me personally i would try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalahariAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F'burg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We've been to New Zealand twice and stayed at the Camelot both times. We liked it so much the first time and were so charmed by its beautiful roses that the second time we made the Camelot our base for touring the South Island, staying there upon our arrival, before our departure, and returning several times between trips and tours. Penny and Brian and their staff were exceedingly helpful whether we were looking for a recommendation to a local restaurant or trying to determine the best route to drive to our next destination. The Camelot would be our first choice on a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

we stayed here as the motel we had booked was revolting and this was just down the road, The owners were fantastic, pre warmed the rooms, made us feel really welcome. we stayed in what they called the "lodge" 4 big bedrooms, seperate fully functional kitchen and lounge, huge TV with sky etc, , there were two difeerent bathrooms. There was also a pool outside that it was too cold to use.

i travel to chch for business often and i will definitly be staying there again. great service and a welcome place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmajb255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

EARTHQUAKE FAMILIES THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY! We stayed here while our house was being repaired. Large interior space, high standard of service, safety, internet access, spa, swimming pool and play ground is an ideal place for a family.
Penny and Brian were very kind and very understanding of our need as a family. A fridge freezer for our unit was given for our long stay, use of washing machines and dryers were available and our unit was cleaned, every day, at a very high standard. They both understood what we needed and we appreciated that, especially what was happening with our repairs at home.
To the house cleaners, we THANK YOU VERY MUCH. Especially the service cleaners during the week. You all were very kind and respectful.
To Penny and Brian, THANK YOU SO MUCH. Your kindness and thoughtfulness will never be forgotten. You made us feel very welcome and helped us whenever we needed.
For any person/people who are looking for accomodation, wheather you are from Christchurch, New Zealand or the world, The Camelot Motor Lodge in Christchurch is the BEST place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 km away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 km away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 km away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 km away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $110 - $197
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing