We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the range hotel with free unlimited wifi, ok for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #19 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Middle of the range hotel with free unlimited wifi, ok for short stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Not sure the French would call this a chateau, so don't expect to be checking into an old-fashioned European mansion or castle.

Having said that, the hospitality of the staff was fine, generous breakfast packs (we had an early morning flight) and there is unlimited free wifi in lobby and rooms. Hotel is tired and in need of some TLC and to top it off they experienced some damage from the earthquakes. We stayed in 2 different rooms, and both were also tired and needing some attention, rooms were dark, in need of ventiliation/fresh air and not much of an outlook (car park from one room and the roof from another).

It looks like a close walk through the park to the city, but it is probably more like a good half hour walk, so be prepared to put on your walking shoes. However, unfortunately there isn't much to see in the city now except many deserted and impacted buildings fenced off to the public.

Suitable for a short stay or stopover.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch1nadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    393
    235
    64
    25
See reviews for
147
487
54
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for the last few days of our 5 week holiday. We stayed in some fantastic hotels throughout our stay and picked this hotel for our final touch of luxury before flying home. Can only say the people rating as excellent can't have stayed in many good hotels. I had to look up the word luxury on my return home to check the definition had not changed. We paid extra for a superior spacious room (which looks really nice in the picture on their web page) with luxury bathroom. Room was significantly smaller than the picture shows and did not open onto a courtyard (again as the picture shows). Don't get me started on the bathroom! Hotel may once have been beautiful and luxurious and could be again but is in need of a massive upgrade. It cost double any other hotel we stayed in during our trip. On plus points it is in a good location and unfortunately due to earthquake damage is the only hotel of this type still standing in Christchurch so there aren't too many choices around. However it really annoys they are charging so much for so little quality.

The staff were ok - not great but not bad. However we had every admiration for them and rest of people in the city of Christchurch trying to get on with their lives in such extremely difficult circumstances.

Room Tip: Complain to reception if you are not happy with the quality of the room. We eventually wore them do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here ahead of all the troubles and it felt so luxurious! Great service, and they allowed a slightly late check out. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaroxanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Perhaps naively, I expected Christchurch to be less damaged (and hurt) than it actually is, one year after the second earthquake struck. However, I didn't see the various pit props and damaged areas within the hotel as being problems, although I do think that it is poor to be advertising a pool when there is no hope of one being available yet. Our rooms (we stayed there twice, once for two nights at the beginning of our tour of South Island, once for one night at the end) were old-fashioned but comfortable, clean and with more than adequate bathrooms. We found the desk staff helpful and friendly (well, it is NZ) and very anxious to please - one of them even arranged an upgrade for our second visit, completely unbidden since we had said how comfortable we had been in our first room. We deliberately decided to visit Christchurch as a show of support and are not disappointed that we did so - I can only assume that the unfortunate reviewer who was so critical was the victim of a monumental housekeeping mess-up. We were happy to return to the hotel and would do so again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here one night late January in a group on a tour of New Zealand and have just written a letter to the tour company.This hotel is the worst I have been in for a long time. They are still advertising a swimming pool, which, when I enquired as to the opening hours was told it had been condemned.The hotel is held up internally by steel scaffolding poles and is shabby. The room was awful.Dark with grubby carpets, dirty desk with ring marks, a tv with an unwatchable grainy picture, lumpy bed, and horror of horrors when I threw back the bedspread in the morning, old bloodstains and other dark marks on the inside. I called our tour manager to witness this and informed the management via the feedback form.
Basic hygiene has got nothing to do with earthquake damage.
There were no emergency instructions on what to do in the event of an earthquake, which I would have thought would have been a priority.
If this had been the first NZ hotel on the tour I would have been apprehensive about what I would find later but all the others were spotlessly clean and excellent in every way. This place is a disgrace

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank irishwaterspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,830 reviews
2.2 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
645 reviews
1.4 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.6 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
0.4 km away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 145 in Christchurch
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $128 - $260
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing