We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
352
265
127
42
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
265
127
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjimmy's barfamily historypapanui roadnew zealandlate checkoutspa bathenjoyable staybuffet breakfastthe ground floorcity centreroom was largesouth islandgreat place to stayhagley parkcomfortable roomshome away from homebotanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

After 2 night's stay in a refurbished unit, we are certainly glad to be returning here at the end of our week's tour. It was lovely to be welcomed in the typical Kiwi fashion and shown to our upgraded accommodation. Jimmy's restaurant was a delightful venue to meet our friends being able to cater for all tastes. Breakfast offered a pleasing variety of fresh food. This is our spot for future South Island visits.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank MeredithC388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. Its great we had the luxury of being able to upgrade you to one of the new units. Our food in the restaurant is also fantastic I would agree and is consistent so you will be assured of a great meal. We do look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the South Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Is always consistent. A great location and has all the facilities. Close to other restaurants and bars or dine or drink in. There is always people to talk with at the bar . The staff are very friendly and always helpful.

Room Tip: I like downstairs
Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dixeechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Our location is fantastic with a short walk to Hagely Park, Casino, many local restaurants and bars. I sometimes relate our bar to the program Cheers - lots of friendly people and a great networking environment with a little bit of comedy along the way. Our staff are amongst the best and all feel a sense of ownership and pride in the hotel - it really shows. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed one nite very nice the room was lovely and the bed comfy pillows good no noise from the road but a noisy fridge or hot water cylinder in room very clean and well stocked room i think nets would be good for privacy not private at all we were by the pumps out the front u can see in the room thats all i can recommend to the owners i love the cafe very cool and the sts outside were cool and the petrol pumps old and very cool

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay. Our beds are extra comfy due to a special cloud like underlay and makes for a great nights sleep. We did take note of your comments on the cylinder and had an electrician fix it that day. Thanks for the feedback on our café/bar - it really is pretty cool and shows a lot of old kiwiana days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Clean, good location and recently renovated.
The restaurant and in room dining is nothing short of amazing, chef knows what they are doing.
Now for the bad; water pressure was almost non existent, the heat pump doesn't get warm (despite setting it to 30deg and on "heat") and the internet (although free) is painfully slow.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyronical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our new rooms are great and the location is perfect with easy walk to the City, Hagely Park, many new local bars and restaurants. Our restaurant as you say is amazing and never fails to exceed your expectations. The heat pumps are great, I wish you had called and advised as it was clearly on the wrong setting. The new bathrooms are fantastic and water pressure is a personal thing. Perhaps next time you stay ask for one of our Superior Deluxe or Executive Deluxe rooms it is different in each wing. Additionally the internet is normally not a problem so had you advised us at the time we may have been able to resolve this immediately. We do hope to see you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

A rather nice place, very pleasant staff, and comfortable room. Enjoyed the stay.
Only one disappointment, the buffet breakfast on Saturday was cold.
But still a nice place and the great atmosphere in Jimmy's is great with all the old pictures, bikes and various items.

Room Tip: rather nice, just an issue with hot water in the sinks in the kitchen and bathroom. No major.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandeg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our fantastic staff. I can only apologise for the breakfast - I am not sure of the circumstances it is normally great. Jimmys bar is certainly interesting and is the passion of my father who has spent a lot of time investing in the history of New Zealand of old. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews