We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
7
24
13
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
24
13
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed for three nights at the Camelot before travelling on to Queenstown. Christchurch itself is a beautiful city and has a very European feel to it. We actually spent very little time in the hotel!

The hotel itself was perfect for us. We paid only 59NZD per room per night which was as cheap as a hostel. The hotel is situated on cathedral square and overlooks the Cathedral itself. We checked in quite late as our flight got in late. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was quite large with two queen size beds. Room quite basic. Had old enough TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was fine, bit of a strange smell!!! but other than that it was clean. The room had a heater which was sufficent to heat the large room. Cleaning service done daily and if u wish not to be disturbed they leave towels, toilet roll etc outside the room which was good. Overall the rooms are dated and basic but considering the price it was perfect for us and beats sharing a dorm in a hostel!!

We ate lunch in the hotel restaurant which was really cheap- 2 courses for 10NZD. Food was ok nothing spectacular. We also had breakfast the morning we left for 15NZD we had cooked breakfast which wasn't good at all and could also help ourselves to cereal, toast, coffee etc. I would in future just stick to that and avoid the cooked breakfast or eat elsewhere.

Staff were very friendly in the hotel and the restaurant. They also dont have internet acess which I would have liked. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget. Can't beat the location!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

There were stains on the bedspread, bed, chair, and sheet. Thick dust by the lamp that did not work in any plug and especially not the one by the bed - which had a hole where the on/off switch should be. Old dribbled stains around the handbasin, where there was also a hairclip - left by the previous occupier. Thick scum on the bottom of the shower curtain and marks on the white towels. The saucers had brown stained rings and one teacup was stuck fast to the saucer. Teaspoons had a murky film coating them and a deflated ballon was in the wardrobe. I asked to be moved to a room that MAY have been serviced. It did not have noticeable stains on the bedspread, but the shower curtain was worse than the previous and the towel had a brown mark, (not black).. I did not touch the dishes or anything more than I had to and checked out in the morning. If I could have avoided that overnight stay I would have. I found another awesome hotel a few blocks away for the next 4 nights. I recommend you find alternative accommodation and avoid this hotel if possible. The experience is one I don't wish to repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InverDee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights and am impressed with the entire experience. The rooms are impeccably clean, and very comfortable. A nice relaxing atmosphere. Nice sized rooms...not small and pokey like many hotel rooms. The location is perfect! Right in the middle of the square with buses stopping all around you so never short of transport. Very friendly and helpful staff. The Camelot is my new place to stay in Christchurch. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Arrived and was pleased to see position and that we had a view overlooking cathedral square.
Room was large two double beds with electric blanket,but we always travel with hot water bottle.
The reviews we had read were correct,it is noisy at night as the backpackers is next door and being central to other hotels the square is a stop and drop,but if the noise worries you,use some ear pugs,we found the views worth putting up with the noise ,espessially as it rained non stop day and night for the 7 days and nights,so was great to sit with a fan radiater ,sipping a drink and looking out over the square at all that was happening outside.
Yes there is bell ringing practice at the cathedral for 2 hours tuesday,but we enjoyed it.
The staff all nice and helpful,while it is a budget hotel,it was better than we expected.
Was not impressed with the breakfast,better value at Bailles part of the old warner hotel near by.
A shame as breakfast was dissapointing made us decide not to eat in the restuarant for other meals.
Did enjoy the meals at Bailees,close by.
The highlight of trip was the Tranzalpine rail trip,light snow on top of several mountain peaks,great commentary ,terrific staff,also great to get free pick up to train,and only 5.OO TRANSFER BACK.Terrific so close to free city circle bus,free to top shops and frr bus to casino,cheap meals at casino,but did find the buffet lunch had gone back from last visit was dissapointed.
It was the wettest period on record,but because of our great view we still had a good time.
We also enjoyed the church service on sunday morning,and after a bit of a hassle we found the right metro bus that got us to,northland and westfield, great airflight with pacific blue ,
Back home and saving hard to have another adventure ,thanks to everyone who submits to trip advisor enabling us to have great budget holidays

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This hotel is in a very central location, but that also means noise from the Square and of course lack of parking. Other than that, the hotel was clean, rooms roomy, beds lovely to sleep in.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews