We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here whilst attending a work function. The location is close to the airport, but not the central city. It's not particularly close to any shops/supermarkets so would recommend having a rental car. The rooms themselves are pretty good. I had a king bed (2 singles joined together) and my room had a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was OK and was a shower over bath. The staff were all polite and helpful, particularly the restaurant staff. I had continental breakfast which was very nice, with a good selection of food. Had buffet lunch and dinner which was also nice. The Copthorne Commodore is like a well-oiled machine - everything runs smoothly and without fuss. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel if you want to be near the airport or if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    353
    66
    7
    6
See reviews for
290
490
73
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here prior to an early morning flight from Christchurch and what a surprise we got in terms of the service, amenities and location. We stayed in the business suites, which is the newest part of the hotel. The old part looks ordinary, but these suites were terrific with brilliant design and a fantastic out look over the fields to the nearby airport. Relax, there is no airport noise at all. We had suite 455 which is the real gem of them all being a top floor corner suite. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 455 or 355
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaBruceNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

The experience was well worth 5 stars. The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel set up is lovely- from the gym to the outside seating are by the fire. The restaurant food was really nice and they kindly accommodated requests for special diets. The service in the restaurant is top notch.

The bed was nice and big, very comfortable. The pillows could maybe be a bit firmer. The room was super spacious and had a lovely garden type view.

We unfortunately only stayed there for 2 nights- next time, I'd love to stay for longer as relaxation seems really possible here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

One of very few hotels left in Christchurch but a good one none the less. The staff were very helpful and effiecient when checking out. The room was clean, tidy and most importanatly quiet. As the name would suggest close to the airport and a free shuttle which suited my needs catching the red eye back to auckland. Will look forward to staying there agian

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

From the initial email contacts, to the warm and friendly welcome on arrival, right through to the moment we left (for the second time!), the service we received from everyone associated with the hotel was simply outstanding!

This was the final night of our 3 week tour of NZ - the majority of which was spent in a campervan - and we had an early morning flight booked, so we requested a quiet room to get maximum rest. Check-in was swift, but very friendly and we immediately felt relaxed as the porter showed us to our comfortable room well away from the lifts and public areas.

We were given a couple of free drink vouchers which we presented at the bar and despite the fact that they were freebies, the friendly barmaid kindly offered for me to taste a few different beer options before I made my selection.

Checkout at 5.00am was again quick and easy and we took advantage of the free shuttle to the nearby airport. After waiting in line for nearly two hours we were advised that our flight was delayed until late afternoon and so after a quick call to the hotel we were picked up again and kindly allowed to return to the comfort of our room. Far preferable to spending long hours at the airport! We were even given an extension to the check out time which allowed us to rest and enjoy a lovely hot bath before once more catching the shuttle bus back to the airport.

A further example of the high quality service - we asked whether the hotel had some scales as we were concerned about the weight of our bags and after explaining that they once had some but they had been removed by another guest, they offered to drive me to the airport and wait for me while I went in and weighed the bags. I decided not to worry, but the offer was much appreciated.

All in all, the Copthorne is a comfortable and convenient hotel, but it was the very high level of customer service that stood out for us. Would definitely recommend if you need somewhere to stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheresubeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 km away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
6.7 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
7.6 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#10 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.5 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
6.5 km away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $171 - $331
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing