We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Red Door Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom
Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Trendy Decor
Plenty of Space
Dining for Six
Comfortable Couches
Relax in Comfort
Sunny Lounge
Spacious Living Area
Modern Kitchen
Outdoor Living
Sunny Verandah
Tranquil Private Garden
Outdoor Garden Seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Christchurch, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phillip S
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Simply fantastic home away from home, we booked this place based on other people's reviews, myself being from Christchurch orginally I wanted something central but didn't bank on finding something as good as this. The location was first class, the house was everything we hoped for and more and the pantry was well stocked, it's taken me a while to get round to writing this but that's due to me not wanted anyone to know how good this place is. We'll definitely be back and will most definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your review - great to hear you all enjoyed Red Door Cottage. Any time you'd like to return, you'd be most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvana L
Lobethal, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Gorgeous cottage in a quiet location close to shops and restaurants. Beautifully furnished and a fully stocked pantry cupboard with everything we needed and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Delighted you enjoyed Red Door. Any time you'd like to return, you're very welcome - thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FromGB
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Homely and good value”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a very pleasant few days here. As others report the kitchen is very well stocked, by far the best stocked self catering on our travels and very helpful when travelling. The house is very homely, a lovely small garden, nice open plan main room, dining area and kitchen, two double bedrooms and one bathroom. There is also a laundry room.

Directions to the property are clear. The key is left in a key box, we never met the owners although there are contact numbers should you need to contact them. This is certainly a good value option in Christchurch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Bu...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing. Simply Amazing.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The minute we walked in the door we felt at home. What an outstanding place to stay in Christchurch. This 2 bedroom cottage has everything you might be looking for and then some - it was the perfect place for us to mix some "chill out" time in the cottage with some touring and shopping in and around Christchurch. Now that city centre accomodation is limited, this becomes a perfect option, far enough off the hustle and bustle of Papanui Road for a comfortable, peaceful nights sleep, and still walking distance to everything you need.
Forget a hotel room - book this every time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Spacious and all the comforts of home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your kind words, it's great to hear you all enjoyed your time at Red Door Cottage. We love our little house, and it's lovely others enjoy it too. Please come back and stay anytime, you'd be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ineedahol...
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A real home away from home”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is exactly what I'd like my house to be if I had one in Christchurch! The lovely owner has done it up with loving care and one never feels for a moment that it is a holiday rental. A supermarket is not far off, and it's a pleasant 15-20 min walk to the city centre. The kitchen is full of condiments and supplies, which is wonderful for us who cannot bring in foodstuff from elsewhere, but would love to have our Asian spices, sauces and condiments to cook with. Our kids loved it so much they want to come back to Christchurch just to stay here!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review, it's great to hear you all had a great time at Red Door. You'd be very welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing