We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
26
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt minute walk lovely garden each morning new zealand botanical gardens hagley park pam ensuite breakfast nz
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We spent two nights in this delightful B&B at the start of our tour of new Zealand.
Pam is a delightful host, our bedroom was very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. A perfect place to recover from the long flight. Thanks Pam.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank B3177VMmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fendie, Owner at Fendalton House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

thank you very much and yes I get delightful guests too ! And I totally understand about jet lag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We stayed at Fendalton House twice during our visit to New Zealand. The location is quiet and safe. It was a short walk to the botanical gardens and a slightly longer walk to continue on to downtown Christchurch. The nearest bus stop to downtown is about five minutes' walk. Pam is a most welcoming host and we enjoyed chatting with her. She was a great source of knowledge about Christchuch and New Zealand in general. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was a sumptuous spread, with fruit, cereal and home-made yoghourt followed by a choice of hot breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank plevett2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fendie, Owner at Fendalton House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you very much for your review, I enjoyed having you both to stay too. And I hope that the next part of your trip was productive and enjoyable.Happy travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed with Pam for two nights while we visited Christchurch and reorganized for our flight to the north island. Couldn't have been better.

The location is between the center city and the airport, easy to find from any direction. It's a longish but lovely walk to the center city, through leafy suburbs, parks, and botanic gardens. We enjoyed seeing the city on foot, so this worked well for us.

As others have said, Pam is a wonderful B&B host(ess). The only room is delightfully comfortable, has great lighting, and tea service, wine glasses, and nice warm towels are all supplied.

Pam gave us a great orientation, providing maps, ideas, and restaurant menues. Breakfast included the most wonderful fresh fruits, yogurts, homemade muesli, and whatever cooked breakfast you might desire.

If we have a chance to return to Christchurch, we'll certainly try to stay at Fendalton House again.

One tip: the booking form on the website didn't work for us. It looked as if it had, but no message got to Pam, so we got no response until we contacted her directly. I suggest skipping the online form and going direct, either by email or telephone.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KateMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fendie, Owner at Fendalton House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you very much for a lovely review, it was so nice to have such relaxed and happy guests. And I am pleased to say that the booking form has been removed. Best of luck with your weather and travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

We stayed six nights in this cosy and comfortable homestay with only one guestroom.
The breakfast was excellent every day. We felt like home with the warmhearted and caring hospitality of Pam.
The place is located central to the maintown but very calm.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fendie, Owner at Fendalton House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review, I am always very grateful. And I am very glad you liked it here, i think you had a good time in New Zealand. Best wishes for all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

B&B is perfectly located, with walking and bus access to Hagley Park, airport, Riccarton Bush and Westfield Mall. Pam provides the perfect quiet environment for recovery from the trip and orientation for a month touring South Island. Riccarton Farmers Market is 5 minutes walk on Saturday mornings. 5 minute walk to the bus for the airport or downtown. Breakfast is whatever you want. 15 minutes walk to the Saturday morning ParkRun in Hagley Park.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maysi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fendie, Owner at Fendalton House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review, I hope that you are enjoying running around your hills in Colorado, I think you did quite a bit more running here than just in the Park. It is great to see people enjoying being here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews