We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotlessly clean. Spacious. Well appointed. Friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean. Spacious. Well appointed. Friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Unaware of the full and ongoing extent of the earthquakes earlier in the year on the city, and specifically on the (lack of) availability of hotel rooms in Christchurch, we had left our accommodation booking for a transit night very late. Upon discovering just how scarce rooms are we felt very lucky to secure one at this motel at a reasonable price and in a convenient location between the airport and city. We were then very pleasantly surprised to find this is a real gem. Tina, the host/owner, was very welcoming and helpful. The room was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable and very well equipped with self catering facilities for a longer stay. We particularly appreciated the quiet of the room, with balcony doors at the rear opening onto a small garden area. As one who finds the lack of hotel room ventilation a constant issue, the 3 or 4 small, high up opening windows in our room were perfect, allowing fresh air and cross ventilation, while maintaining security and privacy. The only negative was the extremely noisy extraction fan in the bathroom which continued for some time after the light had been turned off. I’m sure this is an isolated fault in this unit that will be readily fixed. The $10/head airport shuttle (at 4am!) recommended by the motel was punctual, friendly and efficient. The free in-room Wi-fi is a nice touch, appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    110
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
82
184
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victor
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Once again, Tina and Mary provide first class accommodations under all circumstances. It has been almost a year since I visited Christchurch and stayed there. Due to the owners' outstanding motel, their service and willingness to assist, it is still well worth visiting this city and specifically, their establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms are in good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was our first impression of New Zealand when we arrived in Christchurch. We were very cold having come from Brisbane and the room, which was a fair size, was inadequately heated by one very small electric panel heater. The temperature in Christchurch was eight degrees so I think they need to "up" their heating capacity. The room was clean but the furniture was not in the first flush of youth and the kitchen was very basic. The bedroom also was clean but very small although it had the absolute joy of an electric blanket. We have since stayed in quite a few motels in New Zealand and this one was o.k. but I would not say it deserved it's high rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmythebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I booked in for 2 nights - "over the counter".The manager / owner was extremely friendly and helpful. I found the studio adequate with sofa and table and chairs - which helped with my business meetings. Studio, bathroom and kitchenette all very clean and tidy. I was without a car and would have to say that I had to take a bit of a walk to find a bus stop. For those with a car, the location is very good and off street parking is provided. Bed was comfortable and nights quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed twice on our recent leisure visit, the hotel is absolutely good for family and couples,conveniently located and owner Tina goes that extra mile to make you feel at home.
Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devendra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.1 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.9 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#42 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.2 km away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 km away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Property: City Centre Motel
Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $109 - $167
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing