We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, great chat and always something fun happening”

Exchange Christchurch (XCHC)
Ranked #73 of 211 things to do in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exchange Christchurch connects global communities with the local arts scene. When visiting, you're likely to get a taste of something cooked up in our cafe/bar; a platform for pop-up restaurants, guest chefs, and local suppliers to experiment and share the love of the local food/wine scene with you. We are also one of the few cafes featured on Conscious Consumers. There will likely be an art exhibition on the walls. Rotating almost every couple of weeks, exhibitions have featured alternative, textile, digital, really any form of art. It might be hanging on the walls, or hanging from the ceiling. Events are the highlight of what we do. Performances, launch parties, community conversations, storytelling, classical concerts, open-mics, wine tastings, events galore! Check our website/facebook for whats coming up. There is also a creative coworking/production space for artists, fashion designers, jewelry makers, social enterprises, digital professionals and many others to work in an open shared space that is directly attached to the cafe. So take a peek and see what the artists in the space are up to. Lastly, we have accommodation! If staying in a creative space close to the CBD interests you, there is 1 loft apartment above the gallery for short term stays and artist residencies. We want people to have the full experience of what Christchurch is all about so we carry local products like Ethique body care and source things ethically through brands like Innocent Packaging; so we're taking the best care of the people and the planet!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Up there with the best coffee in Christchurch.
Always smiley staff and good banter to be had.
Not to mention an ever changing art scene inside and free wifi all day in exchange for a single purchase of anything - even a coffee.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank wellgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

A cafe with something of a raw appeal; capacious interior with different areas to settle in to, be they soft chairs or sit upright at the table types. Not at all a bad place for a meeting and the long wide tables lend themselves well to spreading your papers out with reckless abandon....If that is your wont.
Nice food, fresh, hit coffee and good service.
Few negatives.....hard to find a park on the busy street sometimes but otherwise AOK

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank OldV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

It was phenomenal!! Highly recommended. Here's why:

- First of all, the atmosphere is fantastic. Open minded and artistic people around all day and in the evenings. They have a great staff. Thanks for the inspiring talks guys!

- The loft is nicely decorated with cool artistic details. It's a light room with ensuite bathroom. We shared the kitchen with the café's bakers and woke up with the smell of tasty vegan homemade muffins, croissants and sandwiches.
If you want to stay in the loft. Check out Airbnb and look for ‘Loft apartment above art gallery and cafe’ in Christchurch.

- Then they have co-working space with residents with all different backgrounds and expertise. Such a good vibe hanging around here.

- And last but not least, we had the BEST coffee downstairs in the café. And in the evenings the café turns into a bar. We attended a few events, such as a cooking workshop, a classical music concert and naked girls reading. While being here we got to meet amazing local New Zealanders too!

I stayed in their Airbnb together with my partner for 3 weeks (loft room above the café, co-working and event space). We've been travelling around the world for 11 months now. During this time, in every country we go to, we look for a place to sleep, eat and work on our computers (as Digital Nomads you need high speed and stable WIFI of course ;-).

The Exchange is the first place that provided us with ALL of the above and more...

I can go on and on, but don't have any negative thing to say about this place. Just wish something like this community building place existed in our hometown in The Netherlands too...

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Ineke van de H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Fantastic atmosphere and service. The food here is absolutely divine. Been here a few times with friends and they never disappoint. Freshly made and healthy. A range of options and coffee is good too. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank bernardrenee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

I've been here a couple of times in the last month and have been really impressed. The food is delicious and I often find myself trying to create it after the visit at home. The coffee is fantastic and always the perfect blend. I love their coffee cups as well- very quirky! The staff are always really friendly and the chef will always go out of her way to make the customer happy. It is a bit pricey (I've pad $16 for a sandwich) but I'm happy to pay that because the atmosphere and service are so good! I also like spying on the artists next door as they work.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Britta U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exchange Christchurch (XCHC) also viewed

 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Exchange Christchurch (XCHC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing