We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
72
49
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
49
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriccarton roadlarge studiowalking distanceminute walkbeds were very comfortablehappily stay here againspent one nightbotanical gardensstay there againbusy roadunitmotelcitykitchenairportspaciousnessstove
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We didn't arrive til 7pm from the tranzalpine train and were greeted by a welcoming host. He was really helpful and informative.

The appartment was large, bright and had a well equipped kitchen. The beds were comfortable and we had a choice of bath or shower.

It was situated on a main road with shops and restaurants but still remained very quiet. I wasn't aware of any noisy traffic.

It was also situated right by hagley park and the botanical gardens. You could take a leisurely walk through the park, into the gardens and out into town. A really lovely walk. Or catch the bus right outside the motel.

I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank ronella_de_vil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

4 adults for 2 nights in a 2brm unit. Roger was a welcoming and knowledgeable host. On arrival, he offered recommendations on where to eat and assured us that it would be a quiet room (which it was!). The room and space were enough for all 4 of us. We had all the modern cons and appreciated the toothbrush holder in the bathroom as it's not something you often find. It was our first family visit to Christchurch and we would not hesitate to book with Aalton again should we visit in the future.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are towards Bartlett St
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaniaP2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Recommended this motel by local friend and was not disappointed. Handy location with bus stop out the front and a large range of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Only 10 minutes easy bus trip to Christchurch central (only $4 each) or 30 minute walk through parklands. We stayed in a large, very clean studio unit with cooking facilities, comfortable queen bed and foxtel. Roger and Shelley welcomed us warmly and couldn't do enough to help us. Thoroughly recommend the Aalton as a place to stay in Christchurch.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

My family stayed here in a large studio while I was in hospital (I spent one night).
Rome was very spacious, warm and surprisingly quiet given proximity to Riccarton Rd and Hayley Park. Decor is dated, yes, but well maintained and very comfortable.
Bed was too firm for my liking but way better than a soft, saggy, roll-together-in-the-middle mattress! Size of room could have accommodated a larger bed (e.g. king) which would have made it perfect for us. One bug bear: the shower had no door and the curtain was just too short so water leaked all over floor and around toilet which is a safety issue.
We cannot fault the warm welcome and friendly staff, and the cleanliness of the unit - exceptional, and that's what really matters! Will definitely stay again.
Walking distance to Christchurch Public & Christchurch Women's hospitals, and Riccarton Mall. Roadworks in Riccarton Rd currently make access a little tricky, but the back entrance works well!

Room Tip: All rooms are on ground floor, easy access. Get one further back from main road if light sleeper.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmwnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Three of us in unit for one night. Our welcome was friendly and felt genuine. We enjoyed the spaciousness of the room.The room was well appointed with comfortable beds and extra thick blankets in cupboard if required. The motel is situated at the beginning of Riccarton Road and so has many different eating places within easy walking distance.Room was quiet even though situated near busy road. Kitchen well appointed with stove. Would definately stay there again on future trips to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bern715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews