We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful hosts, lovely and comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Helpful hosts, lovely and comfortable room”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed in the deluxe studio, which was spacious, clean, and very well-equipped to ensure a comfortable stay. The welcome cookies and sweets were a nice touch too.

Many thanks to Jeff who assisted us in so many ways. He kindly emailed us in advance to advise us on the congested roads to avoid, helped us book our dinner at Bodhi Tree, and told us about the places to explore in Christchurch. His willingness to go the extra mile left an impression with us. We would stay here again when we return to Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xinni_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Good afternoon xinni_x and thanks for the review! Glad to hear you did like your choice of a deluxe studio - with the extras that are not in the standard rooms! Also glad that you did like and made good use of our type of service. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Christchurch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    229
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
556
66
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was our first stop in NZ, and what a great way to start. Helpful, informative owners, clean, spacious accommodations, and attention to detail. The other recent reviews of this property are right on. I hope to come back to Christchurch, and would definitely stay here again. My heart goes out to the people of Christchurch...still a wonderful city despite all the quake damage. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: A room away from the parking lot/stairs would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JilLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello JilLeeH and thanks for taking the time to review us. *Must agree with other recent reviews* is a powerful stattement, thank you very much! It is great to see you were happy with the rooms and our style of service and that you'd be comfortable coming back to stay with us again.
And yes, Christchurch is still a wonderful city even after the quakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Centerpoint on Columbo was the perfect place to stay to explore Christchurch on foot. Jeff pointed out must see places and helped with travel out to Akaroa. It was very clean and spacious and we would definately return. The small kitchen and refrigerator were a big plus as we had just moved out of a camper. Thanks Jeff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidt407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The room itself was nice, and clean with a small kitchen and good sized bathroom. They have laundry facilities on-site, but be aware that there is only one washer and one dryer, so hopefully you won't be competing with anyone for their use (we had no issues doing our laundry at about 9 am). The owners are so friendly and helpful with places to eat, things to do, and navigating the city. I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurocarpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying back to Auckland and had a wonderful, comfortable stay. Service is excellent and very friendly and helpful. The room was great, a very upmarket motel which would be hard to match. In view of the sad image of Christchurch, which needs to be seen to understand, the people are very resilient and friendly. A must if you go to Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cullen652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,791 reviews
1.4 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
620 reviews
0.8 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
0.8 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
2.0 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $92 - $181
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing