We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great views, slack service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brancott Estate Heritage Centre

Brancott Estate Heritage Centre
Ranked #9 of 114 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 20
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover the region’s premier wine experience at the home of the original Sauvignon Blanc. The Brancott Estate Heritage Centre celebrates the history of Brancott Estate wines, at Brancott Vineyard, the site of the original Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc plantings.The spectacular Brancott Estate Heritage Centre is one of Marlborough’s premier cellar doors with a restaurant offering majestic views over the region. On a typical clear day, visitors can see the North Island from the elevated site.Visitors can enjoy Cellar Door tastings and wine sales, Wine Tours, an informtaive AV presentation telling the story of the original Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc and a restaurant menu featuring seasonal, local produce.
Blenheim
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views, slack service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Went with four friends for a birthday lunch and were overwhelmed by the glorious views. Struggled to buy a bottle of wine as staff were too busy chatting to each other to (a) take our order and (b) bring it to the table. Food was delicious and well presented but no one bothered to check. When we decided we would like desert we had to go to the counter to request a menu and waited a long time before order was taken. We would have enjoyed a second bottle of wine while we were waiting but no wine waiter appeared and we did not wish to interupt her animated conversation with the waiters to demand service. Not good enough in a pricey establishment.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diner2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Brancott Estate Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect. We pride ourselves on our excellent location, as well as staff. Please be assured we will take this matter up internally. We hope that the birthday lunch was still enjoyable on the day. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback which we will use to improve service.
Kathy Hughes - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    89
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This winery would have to have the best view of any winery we have visited. They realy do have a great chef as the food was outstanding .We had late lunch with friends and very much enjoyed meeting the chef as he visited every table for a quick chat. The staff were smart and friendly we will deffinatly be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigersden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Brancott Estate Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks very much for the great feedback on your experience with us. The team in the kitchen love their job and enjoy meeting the guests. The view over Brancott Vineyard and Marlborough is amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kathy Hughes - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic, there is a big BUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

A fantastic site with stunning views over the Brancott valley and beyond, on a clear day, you can see the North Island. A large number of locals are advising visitors not to go to this tasting room, as the tasting room is at the top of a very steep climb and often you have to walk up because the taxi service drivers have not seen you arrive. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THE SENIOR MANAGEMENT OF THIS INTERNATIONAL COMPANY HAVE NOT INSTALLED A WIRELESS ALARM TO HELP THE DRIVERS WHO TAKE YOU UP TO THE SITE. THERE IS A NUMBER OF MAKES OF THESE ALARMS AVAILABLE, WHICH ARE ALSO SOLAR POWERED. Such as Parabeam ect.
The drivers have to look for a dust trail from an arriving vehicle and then drive down to collect visitors. What happens if they are on the way up or take a few moments break?
However when you arrive it is great with a large range of typical Marlborough wines to taste, with beautiful food and excellent service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank exwinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A brilliant setting for a beautiful lunch with simply stunning views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Brancott  restaurant and Heritage Centre was a brilliant setting for a special lunch. The great service, the outstanding views and the fabulous food is to be highly recommended.
We had duck pâté, salsa and brioche between us (heaps for two so good value), He had the hot smoked salmon salad with roasted beetroot which he declared to be top notch and I had monkfish on warm saffron potato salad with olive and roasted red pepper salad with slices of grilled courgette. it was a beautiful dish though the top of the fish was a little more salty than I am used to but it was perfectly cooked.  We tried the desserts and they were stunning with  nice sized portions.  He had the lemon tart which had the thinnest of pastry and it was perfectly lemony and simply delicious while I had the vanilla panacotta with roasted apricots. Yummy. The coffee to follow was great too so the whole experience while above average was well worth it.  We had a bottle of bubbles which was reasonably priced and of good quality. We found the staff warm and friendly and professional.  If you haven't been then don't hesitate to indulge yourselves for a special occasion or a little treat next time you are in the area as it is the total experience. One tiny suggestion re the photographs on display. Could they please be lowered so those under six foot can read the captions more easily and view them without being on tip toes as they are so interesting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Views!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We went up for lunch without a booking. We were given a table, but it was the last avail so I recommend you book.

The staff were amazing, the food was delicious and well presented, the views are breath taking, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had wine tasting, breads and dips to share, main meal (lamb was great!), dessert each and a glass of wine each, and it all only came to $106 for both of us. We felt that was very reasonable for the class of restuarant.

Highly recommend and will be going back with guests when we fly down next.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ekirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brancott Estate Heritage Centre also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Brancott Estate Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing