We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ideally located”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is situated just a short stroll from the centre of town with its shops and eateries. It has an impressive entrance that welcomes you. Check-in was efficient and friendly.

Our room was on the upper floor and overlooked the open-air swimming pool. The kitchenette was located in its own area off the room. We did not use the kitchenette apart from making hot drinks. The room had a comfortable king sized bed, two easy chairs and a coffee table. The bathroom was of average size with a shower over the bath. Everything in the room worked.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was enjoyable. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking - including your meal in our Restaurant. We do hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    218
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
361
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel is excellent. We stayed 3 nights in a double room with a separate bedroom and 2 nights in a grande apartment and both were fantastic. Really comfortable beds, updated decor and well appointed kitchenette. The apartment was massive and included a spa, dishwasher, walk in wardrobe and washing machine. The pool area was also lovely. The staff were friendly and efficient. The only minor problem for us was the configuration of the rooms - the bedroom was the only place to put the cot and in the apartment the bathroom was off the bedroom so it was restrictive once our bub was asleep. Not sure if they had 2 bedroom apartments. It was very close walk into the town centre and supermarket. The best feature for our bub was the complimentary stuffed kiwi! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debraf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and loved the rooms, and the kiwi! Thank you for your comments, We look forward to seeing you again.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The good
It was very clean. Housekeeping was excellent.
There was an outside pool
It was a a nice, tasteful modern feel
There was a fridge.
I had a separate sitting area which was great.
The beds were super comfy.

The bad
The noise was not good, take your earplugs or ask to be moved so you are not by the road or too close to reception.
The first room was given was a huge one bed suite with a tiny old bathroom. I asked to be moved. They were very good about it and moved me to another with a refurbed bathroom. Weirdly it was overlooking the road, which was very noisy and they really needed some sheer curtains because passers by could see straight in.
The restaurant was a bit hopeless, the staff were sweet and the food wasn't horrible but it was a bit overpriced and a bit slapdash. Wine was v expensive.

On balance I would revisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Room Tip: Go up a level and try and face the pool. Also rooms are at various stages of refurb so ask to see an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Many thanks for your feedback - we do appreciate receiving this.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights while touring Marlborough. Clean modern accommodation. Not doing a gouge for internet access is a plus.
I liked it, and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Many thanks for your feedback. We do appreciate receiving it.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

When one looks at he outside of this hotel on the website one thinks oh! It looks so old fashioned but surprise surprise! It's lovely inside.Quite different to what we expected.The lady was very happy to show me 2 or 3 rooms so that I got the one I wanted.We had traveled from Mt maunganui that morning and had a very long day,so we just wanted to order room service etc.Oh my God troops the meal was almost uneatable! I had orderd the Risoto and it was like a pile of rice pudding with only 2 or 3 tiny little veg things on top and about a teaspoon of juice around it.The only reason I ate is was because I was starving.My husbands was alittle better but not much .He had a steak thing I think.. The whole place was a lovely experience and we would definitely stay there again. Please, Please sort out your food thing and the hotel would be fab!!, it was a lovely touch to have the large shampoo bottles etc as it made it feel more like home. Folks it is a really nice place so do go and stay there and enjoy the comfort.!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to or under the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylene62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback - much appreciated.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
9.9 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.1 km away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 km away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price range (per night): $124 - $216
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing