We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and Interesting”
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quirky and Interesting”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This hotel has some wonderful, unique features but the quirkiness of the themed rooms wore thin after the first night. We stayed in the Raj room which was beautifully appointed but scored low on comfort. We both bumped our heads when stepping out of the bathroom, which is framed by a pair of heavy wooden doors. If you stay in this room, beware of the shower which is also set too low - the tap labelled "F" (presumably for froid?) is scalding hot and the tap labelled "C" is cold. There is nowhere to unpack (clothes or toiletries), the window blinds let in a lot of light and the floor boards are very creaky. Add to this the noisy road outside, the humming fridge, the constantly slamming front door and rowdy diners in the restaurant and it's difficult to rate this hotel for sleep quality!

The restaurant is deservedly popular and it's wise to reserve a table in advance especially if you wish to dine at a time of your choosing. Sadly, our otherwise perfect meal was let down by a badly over-cooked steak. This was professionally rectified by a very attentive restaurant manager and the rest of the meal surpassed our expectations. On the whole the food and service were excellent, both at breakfast and dinner.

We got the impression that the restaurant takes precedence over the hotel as far as staff are concerned. Hotel service was variable depending on who we encountered. There was considerable confusion about the wifi service - we received three different explanations of pricing and availability. On balance, we wished we'd stayed at one of the cheaper B&Bs in one of the surrounding vineyards but if you want to be in the centre and if history and heritage is of interest, Hotel d'Urville is worth a look.

Room Tip: Avoid the Raj room if you are a light sleeper and/or taller than 5ft 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkRestPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    64
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
118
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great hotel in the heart of Blenheim. wonderful restaurant with delicious food, beautiful interior design, attentive service. Rent bikes across the street and go exploring the vineyards. the hotel also has great advice on where to stop and have lunch.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Centrally located, old school charm but still modern and the restaurant is one of the best, if not the best in town. We loved the Raj room .... wished we stayed longer.

Room Tip: Dine in house, not cheap but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Downtown with an excellent restaurant. Please book the table in advance. We reserved but many guests were unable to get a table on a cold Tuesday night. Order the steak! Our room, the "Retro Room" was comfortable too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Room was a fair size, although not overly large. There was absolutely nowhere to store clothes so they had to remain firmly in the suitcase - not a problem if you are only staying overnight but it could be an issue if you are staying longer. Kettle etc provided but the socket was miles away from the kettle - style over practicality perhaps. The restaurant is excellent and the small bar is cute, if a bit quiet when we were there. Staff were lovely - very helpful in all respects. Great location in town and convenient for the wine trail.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Huds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.3 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
10.2 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.1 km away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#21 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Property: Hotel d'Urville
Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price range (per night): $158 - $263
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing