We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Marlborough Stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blenheim, Marlborough Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
martym45
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful Marlborough Stay!”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our five night stay at Brookby Ridge Cottage was the highlight of our trip to New Zealand. First of all, location, location, location--high on a ridge overlooking one of the Brancott vineyards with a lovely deck which was perfect for morning coffee or an afternoon glass of Marlborough sauvignon blanc. The cottage was very private, though the owners were just the other side of the olive grove, (Very handy when the rental car wouldn't start one morning and Richard, one of the owners, drove his tractor over and gave us a jump). Mary Jo and Richard, the owners, were lovely people who offered many suggestions for things to do and vineyards to visit while we were there.

The cottage was nicely furnished (loved the wood burning stove in the living room on chilly mornings), the kitchen was fully equipped (we enjoyed breakfast there every day and dinner on three nights), the bathroom was roomy with a marvelous shower. There were many photos of New Zealand sights taken by our hostess, Mary Jo, decorating the walls of the cottage. And we mustn't forget Brookby, the best dog in the world, who came to visit with us several times a day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thank you so much. Marty, for such a great review. Our guests are a constant delight to us and we love meeting you all, and so does The Black Lab, as you discovered :0)
We work long and hard to ensure that everyone's stay is as successful as we can make it. We've done a lot of travelling over the years, gaining an enormous amount of experience along the way, and we take the view that if we like the way things work then our guests will too. Holidaying can be hard work at times, and it's lovely to be able to just collapse in a heap, enjoy a little bit of luxury and chill out every now and then! Would love to see you if you're ever in this little piece of Paradise again. Best wishes to you both for a wonderful Christmas and a happy and peaceful New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnSmith...
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A special experience in the heart of Marlborough”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is a lovely property high on the top of a hill overlooking one of the vineyards. It is a
one bedroom cottage with small olive grove at the back and the view from the front deck
that I never tired of day or night, overlooking the vineyards, the hills and in the distance, the
small airport. Wild pheasants would stroll along the hillside and the deck was a perfect
place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning, read, enjoy a glass of Marlborough's best
as the sun is setting.
The cottage is well furnished and the wood burning stove is a delightful added touch.
The owners' of the property live in a home on the other side of the olive grove and are
terrific people.
We did many day trips hiking, boating, checked out many of the vineyards and restaurants
that are excellent.
We enjoyed every day of our two weeks and would highly recommend it .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt as if we were really experiencing everything the area had to offer, not from a hotel room.
Liked least: We liked all of if.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Well, we were told you were a lot of fun before we'd even met you, and we loved having you here. Two weeks went by in a flash and there was rarely a dull moment! Would love to see you again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnunbeh...
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Visual Splendor - Wine Fanciers Dream!”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in February 2015

We thought the accomodations looked great on the internet but when we arrived .... fantastic!! The cottage was very comfortable and well appointed with all the thing you would need in the kitchen for a 2 week stay or a couple of days relaxation. And the view from the deck! The whole of Bancourt vineyards, the 'cut' between the N and S island and hills in the distance - who could ask for more! But there is more - wineries galore with the best of Sauv Blancs in the world, the coast road and beaches, cheese shops, great little bistros ........ almost went to a realtor! The best part is the graciousness of yoor hosts Mary-Jo and Richard (plus Brookby the sweetest Lab in NZ) - great folks that make your stay one of the best you've ever had. Thanks guys - can't wait to get back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the hosts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, John. We loved meeting you both, it was so much fun, and the lunch party in the garden will stay in our memories for a long time - everything was perfect, even the weather. Hugely looking forward to meeting up with you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing