We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
96
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostssun roomb and bpacked breakfastadjoining kitchencomplimentary beerheated floorsbircher mueslistayed longerprivate bathroombreakfast tablesitting roomwashing machineother gueststhe heart of the citynew zealandclose to town
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Our suite was wonderfully spacious - including a bedroom, separate bathroom (with a washing machine which we used), separate kitchen and a sitting area/sunroom. Our hosts were very welcoming and joined us for a great breakfast with lots of extras, including bircher muesli (which I love). They also allowed us to include a young local friend for breakfast without further payment, which was gracious of them. The house is a very short walk over a bridge to the city, so no need to drive into town. Would certainly recommend, especially for anyone needing a bit more space than usual and also the option to stay home and cook (as it turned out the restaurant we went to was pretty ordinary, so we would have been better off taking this option!)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We had a great stay here thanks to the lovely accommodation and great hosts. Phil and Joyce provided us with recommendations for local restaurants and sights to visit, cooked delicious breakfasts and made us feel very welcome during our stay. The bedroom was large and the bed was super comfy. Very modern and stylish place to stay.

Would definitely return again if we happen to be in Wellington.

Laura and David.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

We were only here for a one-night stop before the next day’s ferry, but enjoyed the hospitality and proximity of this B&B! We walked to dinner that night [downtown was so close!] and took a NZD $5 Uber back afterward only because of the rain. The next day’s 8 a.m. ferry called for an early rise, which Joyce accommodated amply by leaving us with a tray of continental breakfast the night before—complete with yogurt, granola (muesli), fruit, juice, toast and delicious homemade carrot bread on which we happily snacked onboard the ferry. Totally recommend!

Room Tip: The Manuka room was a perfectly private apartment-like space within the house and had a kitchenette, bathroom and even a clothes washer!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Joyce and Phil were great hosts and have put much thought into their beautiful home. We were lucky enough to have the bedroom, with bathroom, kitchen and sun room to ourselves. Everything was of a high quality, including breakfasts, which we enjoyed with Joyce and Phil. The location so close to Wellington City centre was ideal, no transport required if you only want to visit the CBD, and with a parking space as an added bonus. There was no disturbance from outside traffic at all. Very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great for visitors who want to be in the CBD but also want some R & R.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Joyce and Phil made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They were great hosts throughout our visit. Joyce is an excellent cook and we enjoyed two breakfasts and actually ate dinner with them one evening at a small extra charge. Highly recommended if you would like a change from restaurants while travelling.

The B&B is located a short walk from Wellington CBD. We walked to the harbour restaurant area in minutes. There is also car parking available which is something of a bonus in Wellington this close to the City. The house is adjacent to the motorway, but we couldn't hear a sound from our room.

There are several room configurations - our's was ideal with a large bedroom and separate kitchen and bathroom. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very well appointed. They have thought of everything, even down to a couple of complimentary beers in the fridge.

Highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Wellington.

Room Tip: Try dinner with Joyce and Phil one night.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Winel0vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews