We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astelia Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astelia Apartment Hotel
Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This accommodation cannot be faulted - Friendly receptionist with nothing too much trouble and when we asked for a missing dining chair it was sorted straight away. Amazing value for money at $99 per night for a 3 night stay in a studio apartment and the location couldn't be better. This was probably one of the best stays in Wellington we have ever had & we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandBOtaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    105
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
96
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Probably the nicest appt we stayed in on the North Island. Great value for money, a little noisy at night as we were right in the city with night clubs etc open late but thats what you get at such a great inner city location.
Easy walk to everything! Good Restaurants close by, Museum only 5 mins away, Buses at the door, supermarket 2 mins away, really great location.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor to get away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally-1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I recently went to NZ and my friend booked me a room at this apartment hotel. The cost was around $120 NZ a night and the room was comfortable with a kitchenette, washer and all the mod cons. Stratford on Willis is on Willis St (as the name suggests) in central Wellington. The hotel is close to buses that run to Central railway, where you get get on the shuttle bus to the ferry terminal for ferries to the South Island. The museum and foreshore are a short walk away. The shopping area of the CBD is not far either.
Wellington itself is a charming mid sized city of hilly topography focused around the semi-circular bay. There are lots of places to walk and cute alleyways leading upwards into the surrounding hills, running in between the hill-hugging weatherboard houses. We took a walk up to the Botanical Gardens following signs and generally meandering about. Later we had a drink at bar Mighty Mighty in the paved pedestrian mall area on Cuba St and dinner at Florentito's, a white tile wall bistro, where I sampled some Nga Waka chardonnay with dinner, both of which were excellent.
Loved Wellington, wish I had more time there. The Stratford on Willis apartment hotel was a good place to stay and I had absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazeltrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Booked this for 3 nights in November 2011. Directions and information about car parking clear and accurate which was important as the apartments do not have their own parking but can arrange parking on a day basis at a Wilsons directly accross the road. Noted no parking outside also to unload (yellow lined) but figured out from Google arial view prior I could use a lane alongside briefly to unload the luggage for my wife & myself. Only down side with check-in was the Luggage trolley (good large hotel type) had all 4 wheels with flat tires making moving it a mission which no one attempted to fix in all 3 days we were there, meaning checkout luggage was also a mission. (suggest they replace the inflatable tyres with a good set of solid wheels.)
Check in and reception fine and helpful and like other reviewers was having the 3 night package so advised no room service during stay. No problem for us. Apartment room ok for the 2 of us - utensils / crockery basic but adequate. Dishwasher supplied but only enough soap for one wash (for 3 night stay and no room service nor supermarket handy?) Also what are you going to do with all the rest of the dishwashing tablets if you do track some down, if you do not have a similar dishwasher at home? - Reception could have these available to purchase?? (This is where the space to drain dishes would be handy - mentioned by another reviewer.)
European Clothes washer and Dryer combination instructions over complicated as are all European machines but did the job OK after about 5 hours as long as you get the clothes out as soon as it stops (or you get wrinkled clothes.)
Occasional noise from Bar in adjacent alley on the Saturday night but not enoulgh to wake us.
All in all a good clean place to stay in the centre of Wellington- Would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offagain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I booked this for two reasons, on my return to Wellington I was travelling alone and I prefer self catering apartments for this purpose and the rate through Wotif was a knock out, 3 nights for $109 NZD for a 1 bed apartment. The unit was a good size for the living and sleeping area but the bathroom was very small.
On check in they were very concise, informing me that I had chosen the 3 night stay & save package that did not include housekeeping, this was perfectly appropriate, everything was great on arrival, the room very clean except for the bin in the kitchen that had not been emptied during servicing. I called Reception and the agent came straight up to empty the bin and automatically offered a room change, which I didn't want as I was in the middle of unpacking and it was just a bin that hadn't been emptied and she also noted that I was on a package that did not include housekeeping, but she said due to the inconvenience if I needed anything it could be looked at and she would advise the other reception staff of the incident.
The downside was that the bedroom had very little hanging space in a very small wardrobe and if you were staying here long term on business it would be frustrating.
The kitchenette was very well equiped, but you can tell a man designed the kitchenette that has never washed dishes, there is no place to let dishes drain after you wash them, so after washing up, you have to quickley mop up the bench top.
The fire sprinkler in the bderoom was very crudely cut out of the plasterboard, it should have been better finished.
I stayed in room 506, which was located at the rear side of the building, there is no view in this part of Willis st to seek out so it was perfectly quiet and would happily stay in this apartment again, the views from this apartment were of a very ordinary apartment block, but it was so quiet, I loved it just for that and it was a short stroll around the corner to all that Cuba st has to offer and not that far away from Courtney st for restaurants and entertainment as well as the harbourside, all up it was a very pleasant stay and I would stay here again

Room Tip: Request a room off the street frontage and you should be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airline_GuySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.7 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.2 km away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#21 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.6 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astelia Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astelia Apartment Hotel

Property: Astelia Apartment Hotel
Address: 156 Willis Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price range (per night): $159 - $264
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astelia Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Astelia Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Stratford Apartment Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing