We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B with a warm feel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great B&B with a warm feel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Cozy B&B at the top of a hill in the Mt. Victoria neighborhood. Room was nice, with TV/DVD player, ensuite bath and a fridge in the hall offering free soft drinks, beer and wine. Our first day, we had a fantastic cooked breakfast. Our second day, we had to leave early before breakfast was being served, but they provided us a bag outside our room literally overflowing with fruit, muffins and muesli bars and juice. The property is at the top of a steep hill if you're walking, but there is a bus stop literally right out front of the property with at least 2 different buses that will take you to city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eurocarpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    45
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
91
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for two nights at the beginning of March. It is a great place to stay, and Jane is a great host. Jane makes you feel that her home is your home during your stay. She also serves up an excellent breakfast, with everything from home made muesli, toast, english muffins, and bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We chose to spend our last night on North Island at Booklovers' B&B because it sounded interesting, and we enjoyed it. Jane Tolerton was friendly and forthcoming. She is not your average B&B landlady and the house is evidently hers, rather than being the bland and impersonal guest-house that one sometimes stays in - it reflects her literary interests and her forthright character. Ours was a nice room with a convenient and cleanly bathroom.
We had a rendez-vous with a remote cousin who lives in Wellington and asked Jane whether we could take her up to our room and make her a cup of tea. Jane invited us into her own living room and made the tea herself, and then retired to bed, leaving us chatting around her living room table. That seemed to us to be worth rather a lot.
The following morning we were given a very delicious breakfast by Sally and clear instructions as to where to fill up the car before leaving it at the port and travelling on to Picton.
So we would certainly recommend Booklovers' B&B - it was rather fun and rather well placed (we walked to Te Papa after our arrival).

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My daughter and I loved this B & B. The breakfast was great, Jane was so helpful and made us feel very welcome. She keeps cookies in a cookie jar for her guests to eat throughout the day. The B & B is centrally located and we walked from it to several places--in fact, there is a lovely path right behind her place that leads up the hill (was in Lord of Rings movie). Jane is also interesting to talk to. We really hated to leave this spot and move on.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmdwTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Very comfortable B&B, wonderful breakfast, spacious bedrooms, good wifi. Fantastic collection of books to read. Walking distance to downtown Wellington. It is also right next to Mt. Victoria Park, so if you are a Lord of the Rings fan, you will recognize a classic scene shot there (the Hobbits hiding from the Black Riders).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.9 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
0.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
1.0 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Booklovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 123 Pirie Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price range (per night): $146 - $164
Hotel Class:3 star — Booklovers Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Booklovers b&b
Booklovers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing