We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, Don't stay here.”
Review of Quest on Johnston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Johnston
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Napier
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Great, Don't stay here.”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The room was small, not very clean. The microwave did not work and it was a bit musty.

THey transferred us to a different room, but it was not great. Wouldn't waste my money here again. The package deal I got was for a bottle of wine(cheap), box of chocolates, two free tickets to the movies, breakfast( 2 boxes of cereal, 2 pieces of bread and a bit of jam) and free parking (which we had to end up paying for). Shower was small.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowanandrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    73
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
28
55
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hayman Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Pros - central location, a few minutes away from public transport, restaurants and shops - very friendly receptionist - free internet (and fast) - great in room directory with heaps of helpful information

Cons - ripped curtain - small bathroom and shower - cooking smells stayed in the rooms - no safe in room - rooms were hot and stuffy - rooms are not sound proof (got woken by garbage trucks a couple of times early in the morning and the neighbours partying one night)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieInVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We chose these apartments as we have stayed in other Quests in Australia and not been disappointed, However this one was nowhere near as good. The apartments are very small. In fact in the first apartment we saw the bedroom was so small that there was barely room for the queen bed let alone any other furniture. It was like a cave with minimal ventilation - a small slit window overlooking the street - and no airconditioning. It was very claustophobic and there was no way that I could sleep there. This style of room should be set up as a single person room and never offered to couples in my opinion.

We went back to reception and were offered a choice of two alternatives - another one bedroom apartment on the other side of the building or a two bedroom at extra charge. Luckily the other one bedroom had a much nicer bedroom, with windows across the whole width of the room, bedside tables on both sides, wardrobes and drawers. This room was also very quiet at night and good for sleeping despite poor curtain design - thank goodness for eye masks.

There was little space in the bedroom for luggage, and we ended up with our suitcases on the sitting room floor. The sitting room area was also quite small, a basic kitchenette and a washer/dryer, a table, a sofa and a cupboard with ironing board etc. The bathroom was also small but adequate.

The location was great, central to many good shops and a short walk to the dockside area with great restaurants and bars. In fact most of the Wellington CBD was within easy walking distance. Car parking was across the road and at extra cost - there is a very limited number of car parks and it is advisable to book ahead. Very easy access and unlimited entry day and night, however we just parked the car and left it there until we were ready to depart two days later, everything was so close at hand.

There was a lovely and very helpful young lady on reception. Always cheerful and very friendly. Our apartment was serviced and we had no complaints there.

The washing machine dryer was one of those all-in-one very small front loaders. Took forever to go through a cycle and the clothes still came out quite damp. There were minimal instructions on how to operate it and we had to ask reception how to just run a drying cycle to finish drying the first load. We soon realised that we wouldn't be able to get all our laundry done if we had to do extra drying cycles but luckily reception could supply drying racks and most things dried overnight. A quick iron of the cotton tshirts and trousers next morning before we departed finished off the process. But I much prefer the separate washers and dryers which appear to be more common in Australian apartments. Far more effective and efficient for travellers who only have a limited time to do their laundry and who also want to do other things at the same time.

These apartments claim to be purpose-built. In my opinion they are barely adequate. Yes, it's a central CBD location but that's no excuse for poky, uncomfortable rooms. Despite the great location we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

The office staff at this Quest were friendly and efficient. The office was open reasonable hours. Inexplicably we were only given one key to the room and this had to be signed for, not a problem but worth mentioning. A card key was provided for after-hours access.

The one-bedroom apartment was small, more than a bit worn and in need of an update, having tube TV's and a VCR instead of a DVD player (available from the front desk). The bedroom was just wider than the bed and I bumped my head several times on the TV mounted to the wall just to give you an idea. The closet space is very limited and there is no hanging space in the closet to speak of. Because of the limitation of space, we only prepared non-cooked breakfasts in the apartment, eating out all other meals. The bathroom was small but well setup, we found, with enough towels to avoid the daily servicing, something we didn't expect nor desired in self-catering apartments. It did have wired internet, fee-free at reasonable daily downloads, that came in handy to plan excursions.

That said, we couldn't have asked for a more central location for easy access to parts of the city and sightseeing. Because this Quest is located in Lambton Quay in the CBD, shopping, the waterfront, the Botanic Gardens and dining precints such as Cuba Street are all short walks away. Yet it's a nice respite from the noise and confusion of Courtenay Place. Very convenient to the tram and taxis come in a snap.

Liked best: It's location in Wellington made it an excellent base of operations for sight-seeing.
Liked least: The cooking smells in the hallways from other units greeting you when you alighted on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

Tiny, cramped, dark, run down, far too hot - not somewhere you would want to spend any time! Depressing! Visited friends of ours staying in the Museum Apartments for in & around the same price...really wished we had stayed there instead! Our only mistake in our three week New Zealand trip was staying here for two of our twenty nights! Awful!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,659 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 46 in Wellington
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.3 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
856 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Wellington

Been to Quest on Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Johnston

Property: Quest on Johnston
Address: 35 Johnston Street | PO Box 10 461, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price range (per night): $111 - $294
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Johnston 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Johnston Hotel Wellington
Quest On Johnston Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing