We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had an enjoyable stay over 3 nights. Check in went very smoothly and despite arriving at 10am we were able to access our room immediately which was a bonus. Our room was a little tired but spacious and the free internet access due to the fact that we were on the Executive Level was a bonus.

The club has lovely views and they offer a high tea in the afternoon which is a nice touch. We enjoyed the club except for the first night when it was overrun with children who were hogging the computer. We enjoy staying in club rooms as they are normally a bit of a haven. Unfortunately not that particular night. The other 2 nights were fine and staff were attentive and friendly. The food on offer changed a little each night which was good.

We also enjoyed having a drink in the bar in the main lobby.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. Just over the road from Queens Wharf which has a number of restaurants and just down the road from the Cable Car. We used to live in Wellington many years ago so it was great to reacquaint ourselves with the city and proved to be a good base to do it from. It is right in the CBD so good for business travellers.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your Club InterContinental experience and recent visit to Wellington. We hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Wellington again soon.

Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    400
    145
    43
    19
See reviews for
151
512
96
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Had a great time, not a bad hotel. Very conveniently located. Close to all amenities. Got them to valet park my classic Mercedes Benz coupe here, got broken into on day three, Management didn't want to know about. Not happy about that one. $800 for new side window plus lost my GPS, and had to drive 700km in very breezy conditions. To the credit of their head concierge, he contacted me and offered a free nights stay off his own back, but upper management still didn't want to know about it. I paid $400 p/night for a Club level room and got put in an inferior room. Not happy. A real shame as I have had good experience's with this hotel in the past but on this occassion they really dropped the ball. I would NOT reccommend only because the management was not prepared to come to the party and look after a uest that would have come back. Do they not believe in the power of the pen (read Trip Advisor)??

Room Tip: Get what you paid for. These guys downgraded me but let me pay full price without telling me. Very d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPPROFILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We deeply regret that you experienced a disappointing stay following an incorrect room assignment and an incident that occurred in the Wilson's public car park. Following a management investigation, we are pleased that you received our offer of goodwill extended by our Chief Concierge, as well as the rate adjustment during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Wellington and restoring your confidence in the hotel.

Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My hubby and I were living at Queen's Wharf, in Wellington, for 6mths in 2005.

We frequented the Chameleon Restaurant in the InterContinental... We'd gone for dinner and weekend brunches. Loving the food and staff so much, we decided, why not make a whole weekend of it... stay in a beautiful hotel and a wonderful room overlooking the marina! While being just upstairs from a fantastic dinner and breakfast the next day!

We had a truly wonderful time... this sort of surprised us, as we didn't even leave the 'city' we were living in... but we had a great little time in one of Wellington's top hotels!

I went to the spa for a massage and brow wax, that was delightful!

We spent some time in the sauna and swimming in the pool under the glass topped ceiling!

Swimming in a back-stroke looking up through the ceiling as the 'long white clouds' of New Zealand rushed passed, is forever one of my most cherished and romantic memories!

Room Tip: I think you'd want to request a room with a view... there are 3 sides of the hotel that will off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, as well as previous experiences in Chameleon Restaurant. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington again in the near future.

Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I am a regular visitor to this hotel and it just keeps getting better. For this visit, I enjoyed a room on the 6th floor with an interesting view of a nearby heritage building. The bed was so comfortable and I slept so well. The service was faultless and all the staff are so well-presented. Housekeeping is immaculate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_from_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent experience and particularly the view from your guestroom. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington again in the near future.

Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney - Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Having stayed in Wellington quite a few times over the last few years and my preference continues to be the Intercontinental.

The location is central, with easy walking distance to both Cuba st and Courtney Plc areas for great food.

The Club lounge provides a small but adequate breakfast service (was better a year ago, had hot food back then), with pre-dinner drinks quite nice in the evening.

Rooms are a little dated, but there are a lot worse in Wellington.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidK-aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent Club InterContinental experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington again soon.

Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.5 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.8 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
1.2 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price range (per night): $235 - $570
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Wotif.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing