We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and cheap!”
Review of Little Penang

Little Penang
Ranked #46 of 1,030 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 13
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Peranakan or Nyonya heritage is traced back to the early adventures of migrants predominantly from the Fujian province in Southeastern China, who settled throughout the Malay Archipelago in South East Asia. In their new environment, and through interracial marriage with the locals, a new cuisine is born. Nyonya cuisine is acknowledged as one of the earliest examples of fusion food, with the Penang Nyonyas artfully blending their cooking techniques and ingredients from the Chinese, Malays, Thais and Southern Indians. Penang Nyonya cuisine, which is not shy of flavours or fragrance, is famous the world over and highly sought after by visitors to Penang. Cooking from the heart, we strive to continue the traditions and family recipes handed down through the generations. Apart from this, we also proudly bring you our handpicked selection of the best street foods from Penang, ones that have placed Her on the world culinary map. At Little Penang, we take pride in our food, lots of pride. Lai chiak. Come dine with us.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Big group of us came in for a Thursday night dinner. The place was packed but the atmosphere was good and the staff friendly. The mains were super affordable and YUM! Huge recommentation for (vegetarian) mee goreng.

Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaiChiak8, Manager at Little Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks Sonja
We have a bigger outlet at The Terrace in case you were at the one on Dixon. We are able to cater for bigger groups and functions there with customised menu so tapas style sharing feast!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Im glad we got here early (pre show meal) because it filled up fast! However I can see why. Its cheap, fast and tasty!

I way prefer the Dixon Street one to the Terrace one too BTW

Thank Ema W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaiChiak8, Manager at Little Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Ema, thanks for your awesome review and ratings. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Have you tried our Terrace outlet? Would you be able to give us some feedback as to why you prefer the Dixon outlet compared to the Terrace? We are always looking at ways to improve. Thanks and have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We were in Wellington and looking a relatively quick place to eat. We walked over from the James Cook Chancellor Hotel.

The restaurant is one where you order and take a seat. The food was brought to us rather quickly and it was delicious.

Thumbs up to the food and the staff!

Thank badmaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaiChiak8, Manager at Little Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi There
Thanks very much for your feedback. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The Nasi Gorang here is SOOOOO good! So much flavour and perfectly cooked. Would love to see what other menu items are like.

Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaiChiak8, Owner at Little Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thanks so much Aaron. Its the way we cook our rice and the high heat we use when frying the rice that traps in all the flavour and smells. Try our signature dish, Char Koay Teow next. Its very popular. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Had the nasi lemak with pedas (spicy) chicken. Really authentic and well executed meal. Just like in Malaysia - right up there with some great nasi lemaks I had recently there, and better than most! Well done.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STMinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaiChiak8, Manager at Little Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thanks so much for your awesome review! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Penang also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Little Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing